Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 20-12-08, 10:00 PM
HazzyP HazzyP is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 55
New rig, weak links?

Right lads,

Just been buying a load of parts and will be riggin up shortly but the question is, is there any obvious weak links or something you would change?

Case - Silverstone TJ07

Mobo - Evga Nvidia 790i ultra

Processor - E8500 (EO stepping)

Cooler - Xigmatek HGT 1283

Ram - Corsair Dominator DDR3 1800mhz (2x2G

Hard Drive - Maxtor Diamondmax 500gb 32mb 7200rpm SATAII

Graphics Card - BFG GTX280 OC

PSU - Corsair HX 620w Modular

Any observations?


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-12-08, 10:04 PM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Nothing apart from the fact you'll have a good, fast rig
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 21-12-08, 12:46 AM
Brooksie's Avatar
Brooksie Brooksie is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aldershot, England
Posts: 3,712
I would maybe go for a more powerful PSU.. But other than it, nice specs
__________________
3770k @ 4.5GHz | MSI Z77-GD65 |16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | MSI GTX670 Power Edition | Corsair AX850
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 21-12-08, 08:51 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Do you need to have an SLI motherboard for just one graphics card?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-12-08, 09:27 AM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
He may aswell have an SLI board I feel that SLI scales fairly well and 2x BFG GTX280 make a nice boost in performance.

so why not maybe an upgrade option at a later date when the cards are cheaper

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PV5150'
Do you need to have an SLI motherboard for just one graphics card?
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-12-08, 11:12 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,614
I deffo agree with a meatier PSU, its one place I wouldnt skimp on seeing you have such a large budget.

If the budget isnt that massive, go ATI its where the smart money gets spent.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-12-08, 11:23 AM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
yes a better PSU wouldn't be a bad inestment at all that is assuming you haven't already brought it.

although I think it will handle it all ok but not SLI
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-12-08, 06:45 PM
Jonny2Bad Jonny2Bad is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Really wouldnt bother with that mobo, nvidia boards are not the best for intel cpu's if you plan to oc then get a decent x48 or p45, nvidia needs more volts on the vcore and just isnt as good, the 280 is a nice card but 4870 wins for me everytime right now a fraction of the price and just as good in some games better. 4870 ftw. intel chipset ftw.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-12-08, 08:10 PM
Technex's Avatar
Technex Technex is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 370
I think he's fine with that PSU, it kicks butt!
__________________
www.laurencegough.com

Cooler Master HAF X | Noctua NH-D14 | Intel Core i5-2500K @ 4.5GHz | EVGA Nvidia GTX 460 SC 1GB | Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3P | Crucial Ballistix 4GB DDR3 1600MHz CL8 | Coolermaster Silent Pro Gold 700W | Noctua NF-P14 Drivebay fan w/16x LED | Crucial M4 128GB SSD | WD Raptor 150GB | Samsung F3 1TB | Acer 22" | Nzxt Sentry 2 | Logitech Illuminated Keyboard | Logitech G500 | Audio-Technica ATH-A900

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-12-08, 10:33 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jonny2Bad'
Really wouldnt bother with that mobo, nvidia boards are not the best for intel cpu's if you plan to oc then get a decent x48 or p45, nvidia needs more volts on the vcore and just isnt as good, the 280 is a nice card but 4870 wins for me everytime right now a fraction of the price and just as good in some games better. 4870 ftw. intel chipset ftw.
i dont think this is a fair comment to nvidia, 790i is an amazing board, one of the best nvidia boards ever made in my eyes, great overclocker great stability.........buttttttt, you could get a p45 and gtx 295 when its released, save alot of money from the motherboard and put it into the graphics card, and try and get a 750w or above psu, but the price on the gtx 295 is probally going to £500+ knowing nvidia

and one last thing, if you was to switch to ati, then just get a 4870x2 great price and great performance
__________________

3770k 4.6Ghz | Vapor-X 270X | 2133Mhz ripjawX | RM550 | 120GB SEVO

Rest in pepperonis rig
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.