Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 16-11-08, 03:02 AM
GamingGod GamingGod is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
I meant for just right now while im overclocking but ok

So do you think overclocking until my temps hit 58 or so is enough of a distance from the max temp?

And what is a BSOD

Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 16-11-08, 03:10 AM
GamingGod GamingGod is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Anything about voltages, even though im stable
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 16-11-08, 03:29 AM
Allargando Allargando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 130
BSOD = blue screen of death

when windows crashes, you get a bsod. What you will see when (and if) you get one is a blue screen telling you that windows detected something and has shut down to prevent damage to your computer

If you're stable at a voltage, then you don't need to increase it

in fact, you can try decreasing it to lower temps (or just leave it as is)

58*C is a bit toasty imho, but if you're comfortable with 58*C then it's all good

I'd personally stop once my load got to about 51...but that's just me
__________________
CPU: Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz (3.03GHz @ 1.160 Vcore)

Mobo: Asus P5Q Pro

Cooler: Sunbeamtech Core Contact Freezer

Ram: (2x1G OCZ Reaper dual-channel ddr2 800 (ddr2 1040 5-5-5-15 @2.2V)

GPU: HIS HD3870 IceQ3 512MB GDDR4

Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 16-11-08, 03:47 AM
GamingGod GamingGod is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
You know, occt is rediculous lol. The most power hungry game I play is cod4 and that is only 60% usage i mean occt is 100%. I am now clocked up to 2.97 ghz and am running at 53 degrees. This should be about 50 running cod4 maxed out. I dont know if this o/c made a difference yet.

I did increase my voltage my 50, will relower it

Oh and I am also about to add a 1/2 gig of ram to my pc.
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 16-11-08, 05:10 AM
Allargando Allargando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 130
OCCT is used for stability testing and burn-in. Most times, when you apply or re-apply thermal paste you need to let it run for a certain amount of time or put it through several thermal cycles (letting the processor get hot, then letting it cool down) before it works the best it can.

Also, if you overclock and use 60% load temps to judge whether you should push the cpu a bit more or not you can end up exceeding the max safe temp should you fully load your cpu for any significant amount of time (which isn't that hard to do)

If you're looking for extra fps in games you'll want to overclock your gpu. You actually won't notice much improvement in fps by overclocking your cpu.
__________________
CPU: Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz (3.03GHz @ 1.160 Vcore)

Mobo: Asus P5Q Pro

Cooler: Sunbeamtech Core Contact Freezer

Ram: (2x1G OCZ Reaper dual-channel ddr2 800 (ddr2 1040 5-5-5-15 @2.2V)

GPU: HIS HD3870 IceQ3 512MB GDDR4

Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 16-11-08, 05:19 AM
GamingGod GamingGod is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
I am about to smash my whole pc.....why the *&%# did i just overclock my cpu......
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 16-11-08, 05:19 AM
GamingGod GamingGod is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
BTW any tips on o/c nvidia?
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 16-11-08, 06:08 AM
Allargando Allargando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 130
you did it for the bragging rights and because you are curious about the inner machinations of your computer

for gpu overclocking, I'd get rivatuner

be sure to watch your gpu temps as well

increase the clocks in small increments

if your screen goes blank, wait a while (gpu might automatically recover) and if it doesn't recover you restart

if you start to see artifacts (pixels that look funny, or not the way they're supposed to) then you back off your overclock a bit

to OC in rivatuner:

in the main tab look for the word "customize" and click the triangle thingy next to it

click the picture that looks like a video card

and that'l bring you to the clock and memory settings screen
__________________
CPU: Core 2 Quad Q8200 2.33GHz (3.03GHz @ 1.160 Vcore)

Mobo: Asus P5Q Pro

Cooler: Sunbeamtech Core Contact Freezer

Ram: (2x1G OCZ Reaper dual-channel ddr2 800 (ddr2 1040 5-5-5-15 @2.2V)

GPU: HIS HD3870 IceQ3 512MB GDDR4

Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 16-11-08, 08:08 AM
GamingGod GamingGod is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 48
Between 57-60 degrees full graphics load, is that a reasonable temperature?
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 16-11-08, 12:09 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
lol learn to use the edit button/be a bit more patient

we dont all just sit on the forums all day

First step would be to google

"how to overclock *replace with motherboard model*"

"how to overclock *replace with gpu model*"

or just look through our slightly dated stickies - youd get the general drift

when you run into problems give us a shout
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.