Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-11-08, 08:49 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 927
Christmas Build!

Christmas is close, about the time my mother spends a bit of money on me.

I need a job...

Anyway its my birthday in febuary so i will have enough money by then without getting a job to pay for it.

I will be using my old cpu, gfx, and cpu cooler.

I will be buying the rest.

Here is what is decided so far

In Progress...

Case: Antec 300

Motherboard: Biostar TPower I45

CPU: Q6600 @3.8Ghz (9x423 @1.5v)

RAM: 4GB Crucial Tracers (1128Mhz)

Graphics: 1GB Gainward Bliss 8800GT

Storage: Maxtor 500GB 7200.11 32MB

Power Supply: 750W Corsair TX

OS: XP Home 32

Cooling: Thermalright SI-128

I posted this so others can input on what i should get, like whethere i would need better ram to hit 3.8ghz etc,

Please leave you comments and ideas cheers.

Oh btw the reason im upgrading is because this is my current setup:

Case: NZXT Apollo

Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-EP31-DS3L (only 4 pin cpu power)

CPU: Q6600 @Stock (OS came with a HP, always reverts to stock auto!)

RAM: 2GB OCZ Gold (800Mhz) (only pc2-6400/4-4-5-18)

Graphics: 1GB Gainward Bliss 8800GT (Good card)

Storage: Seagate 500GB (noisey bugger)

Power Supply: 550W Xcilo Greatpower (Noisy ****)

OS: Vista Home Premium 32 (Cant find cd Key/no overclocking)

Cooling: Thermalright SI-128 (Keeps Q6600 @ 3.8 stable and quite)


__________________
Corsair Air 540 / i5 4670K @4200 / Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 / Corsair Vengeance LP Green 8GB @1600 / Asus HD7970-DC2T @1125|1575 / 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB (Raid 0)/ Corsair CX500M / Windows 8.1 Pro
XSPC EX360 / DDC-1T Plus / XSPC Dual Bay / XSPC Raystorm / EK HD7970 FC / 16/13 Compressions & Hosing / Mayhems Pastel Mint Green
AOC G2460PQU 144hz 24" / Logitech G13 / Corsair M90 / Cheap ass keyboard
Asus N550LF : i5 4200U / Kingston 6GB / GT 745M / 500GB HDD / Windows 8.1 / 15.6" Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-11-08, 05:31 PM
Socks Socks is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1,477
add me on msn emo_martyr"AT"hotmail.com. Can help you with the OS not being activated.. XD

and also, you doing the 3.8ghz on air?????
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-11-08, 08:34 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 927
i want a new OS because it wont let me overclock either.

Always reverts to stock.

And yeh i saw it in a video, ill give it a shot
__________________
Corsair Air 540 / i5 4670K @4200 / Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 / Corsair Vengeance LP Green 8GB @1600 / Asus HD7970-DC2T @1125|1575 / 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB (Raid 0)/ Corsair CX500M / Windows 8.1 Pro
XSPC EX360 / DDC-1T Plus / XSPC Dual Bay / XSPC Raystorm / EK HD7970 FC / 16/13 Compressions & Hosing / Mayhems Pastel Mint Green
AOC G2460PQU 144hz 24" / Logitech G13 / Corsair M90 / Cheap ass keyboard
Asus N550LF : i5 4200U / Kingston 6GB / GT 745M / 500GB HDD / Windows 8.1 / 15.6" Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11-11-08, 12:07 PM
Mullet Mullet is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lynx'

CPU: Q6600 @3.8Ghz (9x423 @1.5v)

RAM: 4GB Crucial Tracers (1128Mhz)

Graphics: 1GB Gainward Bliss 8800GT

Storage: Maxtor 500GB 7200.11 32MB

Power Supply: 750W Corsair TX

OS: XP Home 32

Cooling: Thermalright SI-128
Hmmm.... I've bolded areas of concern in your spec mate, 1.5V with that cooler.... I think you'd have some pretty hefty heat/longevity issues there...
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-08, 04:58 PM
Brooksie's Avatar
Brooksie Brooksie is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Aldershot, England
Posts: 3,712
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Lynx'
i want a new OS because it wont let me overclock either.

Always reverts to stock.

And yeh i saw it in a video, ill give it a shot
you probably have speedstep on then.
__________________
3770k @ 4.5GHz | MSI Z77-GD65 |16GB Corsair Vengeance LP | MSI GTX670 Power Edition | Corsair AX850
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14-11-08, 06:10 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 927
No, ive disabled speed step.

Im talking about if i change the fsb, even 15, it reverts to stock. its been the same with all the boards i have had with this OS.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 / i5 4670K @4200 / Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 / Corsair Vengeance LP Green 8GB @1600 / Asus HD7970-DC2T @1125|1575 / 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB (Raid 0)/ Corsair CX500M / Windows 8.1 Pro
XSPC EX360 / DDC-1T Plus / XSPC Dual Bay / XSPC Raystorm / EK HD7970 FC / 16/13 Compressions & Hosing / Mayhems Pastel Mint Green
AOC G2460PQU 144hz 24" / Logitech G13 / Corsair M90 / Cheap ass keyboard
Asus N550LF : i5 4200U / Kingston 6GB / GT 745M / 500GB HDD / Windows 8.1 / 15.6" Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-11-08, 06:14 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 927
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mullet'
Hmmm.... I've bolded areas of concern in your spec mate, 1.5V with that cooler.... I think you'd have some pretty hefty heat/longevity issues there...
Yeh i know, hence the (?) i will most likely upgrade to H20 soon after anyway.

Just cant afford it come christmas time.

I saw a guy oc to 4ghz, hefty vcore though, with this cooler.



Prime stable.

Not too bothered about longevity as i7 is out soon.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 / i5 4670K @4200 / Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 / Corsair Vengeance LP Green 8GB @1600 / Asus HD7970-DC2T @1125|1575 / 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB (Raid 0)/ Corsair CX500M / Windows 8.1 Pro
XSPC EX360 / DDC-1T Plus / XSPC Dual Bay / XSPC Raystorm / EK HD7970 FC / 16/13 Compressions & Hosing / Mayhems Pastel Mint Green
AOC G2460PQU 144hz 24" / Logitech G13 / Corsair M90 / Cheap ass keyboard
Asus N550LF : i5 4200U / Kingston 6GB / GT 745M / 500GB HDD / Windows 8.1 / 15.6" Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14-11-08, 09:55 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Have you adjusted the power settings in Vista's control panel?

Start Menu > Control Panel > System and Maintenance > Power Options



You need to change the setting to 'High Performance'
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14-11-08, 11:30 AM
Lynx's Avatar
Lynx Lynx is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Inverness, Scotland
Posts: 927
Yeh mate ive done that...

__________________
Corsair Air 540 / i5 4670K @4200 / Gigabyte G1.Sniper Z87 / Corsair Vengeance LP Green 8GB @1600 / Asus HD7970-DC2T @1125|1575 / 2x OCZ Agility 3 120GB (Raid 0)/ Corsair CX500M / Windows 8.1 Pro
XSPC EX360 / DDC-1T Plus / XSPC Dual Bay / XSPC Raystorm / EK HD7970 FC / 16/13 Compressions & Hosing / Mayhems Pastel Mint Green
AOC G2460PQU 144hz 24" / Logitech G13 / Corsair M90 / Cheap ass keyboard
Asus N550LF : i5 4200U / Kingston 6GB / GT 745M / 500GB HDD / Windows 8.1 / 15.6" Touchscreen
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.