Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-09-08, 05:53 PM
TopSecret TopSecret is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 876
Intel launch Dual Core version of the Atom CPU

The new dual core version is now shipping.

Read the full article here.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-09-08, 06:23 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Finally, I was thinking a nice server build with this would be good fun. Bad news is it would cost a lot.

I'm waiting for the atom board to become uncrippled, maybe a nice 1gbps ethernet port, 4 sata ports with raid 5, a pcie x16 would be nice...

Then the ultimate low power home server/media centre is born.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-09-08, 06:26 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
wooo, this could be the base of my new server. Wonder what exchange would run like on it though.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-09-08, 06:28 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Where do you get exchange from (without paying £100s) and will it run on xp pro?
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22-09-08, 06:44 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
i have a subscription to mircosoft. It doesnt run on xp, you'll need a server os. You may be able to run smartmail on xp. It's free for up to 10 users.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22-09-08, 06:52 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Oh right, cheers, thought you needed server 2k3 or similar...not really worth it for basic home networking/email management.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.