Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-08-08, 12:44 AM
Frosty Frosty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 7
Water temp sensors

All the inline temperature sensors on the market I've found are crap or the wrong ID for my loop. Can thermal probes be simply placed in the loop. That is can I thread the cord between a barb and the tube so the probe is in the flow of the water. Also, can I dip a prob in the res?

Thanks.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-08-08, 05:15 AM
crapgame crapgame is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
put a prob in the res doent see why not
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-09-08, 12:03 PM
agentx agentx is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 239
ya but as for putting it between the barb and the hose, i wouldnt as it may cause leaks and that is never good
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-09-08, 10:07 PM
joner joner is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 102
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='agentx'
ya but as for putting it between the barb and the hose, i wouldnt as it may cause leaks and that is never good
I have been using this method now for about a year with no probs at all .

here is what it looks like ,,,note that I just have ball at the head of the actuall probe inserted,

here are the temp monitors I use ( white one for air temp at rad and blue for the water),

http://www.aqua-pcs.co.uk/white-lcd-...sor-1023-p.asp
Attached Images
File Type: jpg thermvm5.jpg (63.6 KB, 21 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-09-08, 09:20 PM
k4p84 k4p84 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
I dont fancy the idea of popping it in a joint. Though with it been a ribbon cable i guess leaking is unlikely.

I plan on dropping it into the res

ED
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-08, 04:25 PM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
I would go for in the res myself, just seems saver plus you could argue the water temp will be true'er as there is more water or some crap like that
__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-08, 05:52 PM
k4p84 k4p84 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 619
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='GavX'
some crap like that
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.