Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 20-07-08, 12:26 PM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
There isn't really anything wroing with your build, just that the money spent on the motherboard could be spent on the faster and quieter WD6400AAKS hard drives. It really is up to you. The RF is a great board, no doubt, and I would recommend it. But I would still suggest the P45 boards over it, mainly because of price. If you don't want to go with those boards, fair enough.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 20-07-08, 04:06 PM
jaysbarbq jaysbarbq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 113
Hard drive wise the only alternative set-up I am considering (until I order tomorrow!) Is either my 4 x 500Gb setup or just going for 2 x 1TB. If I go with 2 x 1TB in RAID 1, I would partition as follows:

50Gb for Win Vista Ultimate

10Gb for pagefile

440Gb for installed Apps

500Gb for my cd's/exe's which I keep copies of on a HD

Wiser to go with 2 x 1TB I guess as it means less power, heat and noise than 4 x 500GB?

Ideally I want 32MB cache drives. Looking at Toms Hardware it would appear that the Seagate and Samsung 1TB drives have great write transfer speeds? Although I have to say that I find Samsung drives unrelaiable, having had 2 fail on my within 12 months.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 20-07-08, 04:11 PM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
The new Samsung drives are fine, it was mainly the older ones that had the high failure rates. If you wanted to go with the 1TB drives, the Samsungs are the way to go. I would go with the two drive over the four drive setup because air flow is going to be blocked, and, as you have said, temperatures are going to be quite a bit higher. It would also be a little cheaper.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20-07-08, 04:22 PM
jaysbarbq jaysbarbq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 113
I hope Samsung only make 1 model of the 1TB - I am looking at the Samsung Spinpointr F1 1TB. I also hope that it matches the fantastic performace of my current WD 500GB.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20-07-08, 05:05 PM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jaysbarbq'
I hope Samsung only make 1 model of the 1TB - I am looking at the Samsung Spinpointr F1 1TB. I also hope that it matches the fantastic performace of my current WD 500GB.
That's the model you want It will be faster than your WD 500GB. In fact, most drives out there on the market will be faster than it.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 20-07-08, 07:46 PM
jaysbarbq jaysbarbq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 113
Folks,

Is this ready to order tomorrow??? I removed the keyboard and mouse as my current Logitech is working perfect - so no need to change. Anything I've missed and need to add to the order??

2 x 4 GB OCZ Reaper 1066 KIT – 79.25 each + vat

1 x SATA Sony DRU-190S 20x DVDRW Black & Silver Bezel Retail – 14.10 +

1 x SATA LiteOn 20x Int. L/S DVDRW LS-20A1L-14C – 15.50

1 x Intel core 2 quad Q9450 2,66GHZ 1333FSB – 175 +

2 x Samsung SpinPoint F1 HD103UJ 1TB Hard Drive SATAII *32MB Cache* £76

1 x Saphire or Powercolour ATI 4850HD - circa £100 +

1 x Asus Rampage Formula board - £155 +

1 x Antex Nine Hundred 900 case - £67

1 x Corsair 750w TX PSU - £65 +

1 x Toshiba external 320 drive - £59 +

1 x Trust 1200 V2 pad - £34 +

1 x Thermalright Ultra-120 EXTREME CPU Heatpipe Heatsink - £29 +

1 x Xilence Red Wing 120mm Quiet Fan - 3&4pin connection - £4 +

1 x external USB floppy -£15 +

Total = £1043 + VAT = £1225 Inc
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 20-07-08, 08:35 PM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
Yep, looks good. You might want to go with an internal floppy drive with a media card reader. With Vista installation, you won't need any floppies anyway, so I don't really know what uses you would have with floppies.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 20-07-08, 08:49 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Indeed, these days I sport a bootable usb stick. Cheap as chips if u get a 1G/512m just for boot stuff. (use the HP usb format thing on it for bios flashing etc)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21-07-08, 08:59 AM
jaysbarbq jaysbarbq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: London
Posts: 113
Can you actually boot off a USB stick???

My main reason for getting a floppy was incase my apps do not all work on Vista Ultimate, then I would switch to another O/S. If needed I could then install the SATA drives from a floppy... I think that method is the only way (apart from Slipstreaming which I do not want to do) to get the SATA drives talking to the windows install?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 21-07-08, 11:35 AM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='jaysbarbq'
Can you actually boot off a USB stick???

My main reason for getting a floppy was incase my apps do not all work on Vista Ultimate, then I would switch to another O/S. If needed I could then install the SATA drives from a floppy... I think that method is the only way (apart from Slipstreaming which I do not want to do) to get the SATA drives talking to the windows install?
Yep, you can. The chances of them NOT working is very small. But, getting an internal floppy/media card reader is a good idea.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:03 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.