Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 30-05-08, 10:07 AM
CERO CERO is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 76
If u go that root for sure Uninstall the Chipset drivers, and if u got new GFX uninstall the drivers to, good luck m8

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30-05-08, 10:30 AM
Jeddy Jeddy is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 495
Thanks for your help CERO, reps for you
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30-05-08, 11:09 AM
CERO CERO is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 76
Np problem m8, thats we are here for helping eachother, cheers
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30-05-08, 12:24 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Just swap the motherboards and plug the harddrive in. It should work fine and then you can see if it slows up or is a bit buggy... If so then uninstall all the old drivers and then install your new ones.

I only switched my mobo from a 650i to an X38 so totally different chipsets and it worked fine when I used the same windows install of Vista. I didn't even uninstall my old drivers and just installed my new ones over it as I was planning a fresh install a couple of days later. For those couple of days though the pc worked flawlessly.

Obviously you should uninstall the old drivers anyway but I was just giving an example that it isn't necessarily as bad as is being made out.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30-05-08, 07:02 PM
The Computer Council The Computer Council is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 106
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jeddy'
My copy is OEM, which i assume is bad.

I hear that if you repair your windows install it will redetect your hardware?

I have the install disk from the oem copy but I really dont want to wipe and restart from scratch.
It depends really. You'll most likely need to call Microsoft in order to reactive on the new board. I've rang on behalf of customers before now, some representatives simply activate it over the phone for you, and others do not! I quote one conversation with a MS rep:

"I'm afraid an OEM licence lives and dies with the motherboard".

Hopefully you'll get someone in a better mood if you have to call them.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 31-05-08, 10:05 AM
Jeddy Jeddy is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 495
Can anyone give me the telephone number to call should i require my key to be re-activated?

I cannot find it on the microsoft website...
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 31-05-08, 10:59 AM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jeddy'
Can anyone give me the telephone number to call should i require my key to be re-activated?

I cannot find it on the microsoft website...
It tells you on the installation when you try and use the network key. It'll say that you will need to activate my phone and supply you with the number to call. I've done it a few times with my OEM software and had no problems. Just answer the questions they ask with the answers they obviously want to hear.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.