Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 28-05-08, 11:43 AM
TopSecret TopSecret is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 876
So as long as I take the necessary precautions when installing, my case should be OK?

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 28-05-08, 11:49 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='stuartpb'
So as long as I take the necessary precautions when installing, my case should be OK?
Yeah I very much doubt you'll encounter any problems. But if you are worried, just check that there is no static buildup inside the case before placing your components in there.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 28-05-08, 12:05 PM
TopSecret TopSecret is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 876
Thx, I might just rebuild the rig tonight then!
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 28-05-08, 01:07 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
http://svp.co.uk/products-solo.php?p...vpbase&id=4003

Available just about anywhere. I think even Mr Sheen has anti-static additives.
Surely that wouldnt last forever though?
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 28-05-08, 01:24 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Surely that wouldnt last forever though?
I'm not 100% sure, but providing that there is nothing inside the case to create static that could be transferred to the case (a wooly jumper or a wimshurst machine!), then there shouldn't be any reason for it to build up.

EDIT: not sure if airflow from fans could cause a buildup?
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 28-05-08, 01:32 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
but surely dust etc would be the same in a metal case, so that wouldnt matter to an acrylic one?
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 28-05-08, 02:07 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
but surely dust etc would be the same in a metal case, so that wouldnt matter to an acrylic one?
Metal conducts electricity though, so any build up of static would be discharged to earth.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 28-05-08, 03:17 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
Ooh right, but ive never earthed my pc, or would it go through the psu?

Basically, if you created an alluminium motherboard tray you should be ok.

Or run earth wires like mark
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 28-05-08, 10:00 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
This thread is getting deep lol

So in theory an acrylic mobo tray shouldnt *shouldnt* cause static damage but it could?!

Im confused also

id rather a metal try just incase lol
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 28-05-08, 10:09 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='teknokid'
Ooh right, but ive never earthed my pc, or would it go through the psu?

Basically, if you created an alluminium motherboard tray you should be ok.

Or run earth wires like mark
Yeah most (all)? metal cases are designed so that all parts of the case are connected to the PSU which is in turn grounded to earth.

Providing there is a route to earth through something conductive then you wont have any problems.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
This thread is getting deep lol

So in theory an acrylic mobo tray shouldnt *shouldnt* cause static damage but it could?!

Im confused also

id rather a metal try just incase lol
Rub a wool jumper on an acrylic case and chances are you'll have a case that the hairs on your head, arms (and whatever parts of your body you put near your PC ) will be attracted to. There is a chance that static could zap hardware, but if you get rid of any static before installing hardware and don't rub your Christmas jumper against the inside of the case, you'll be fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:42 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.