Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Screens and Displays
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-05-08, 11:37 PM
WelshD1K WelshD1K is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,047
can i watch tv on my monitor?

is there a box or somethign i can get to watch tv on my monitor without having to have my pc turned on (no tv tuner card in pc etc) as my room is TINY so can only have 1 or the other (pc or tv) and dont want my pc on draining eletrick just to watch tv

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-05-08, 07:53 AM
WinMXer WinMXer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Yes you can, here's an example of a gizmo that'd do it:

http://www.converters.tv/products/vga_to_vga/50.html

although i'd reckon there are better quality devices that'd work better & cost less.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-05-08, 08:17 AM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
you could just buy a new pc moniter with a tv inbuilt?

but thats even more expensive....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-05-08, 08:50 AM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
Why dont you get a tv tuner?

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/120482

Theres tons of them at different prices, offering sky, freeview and regular terestrial
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-05-08, 10:24 AM
WinMXer WinMXer is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
Why dont you get a tv tuner?

http://www.ebuyer.com/product/120482

Theres tons of them at different prices, offering sky, freeview and regular terestrial
Said he didn't want to use his PC, to save on leccy. Nice link though!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-05-08, 10:27 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,416
*cough* google Freesat *cough*

Otherwize, just get an el-cheapo tv pci card.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-05-08, 10:34 AM
WelshD1K WelshD1K is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 1,047
used free sat etc just want to use just the monitor as my pc guzzles the power with the q6600 and 8800gt
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-05-08, 10:37 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,416
Freesat was launched day b4 yesterday as a joint BBC & ITV venture to bring free satelite tv. 200+ channels, 80 immediately *I think*, BBC HD right off the bat and ITV HD once they pull their fingers out.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 10-05-08, 10:37 AM
kendo kendo is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 101
It depends on what monitor you've got and what types of signals and input formats it can take. Plus what about speakers? (built into it?)

Tbh, I'd start with the 'signal' you have (basic analogue/freeview quality aerial/satellite feed and go for a card/box/USB stick that will take the signal and use your PC to convert it to display and hear through your monitor and speakers. It'll also give you a PVR built in.

I bought a cheap but reliable USB freeview stick (DVB-T) off ebay for £10 delivered, fine tuned my aerial for the best freeview signal and use DVB ViewerPro to watch TV and record/timeshift TV. I just love the desktop TV feature.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-05-08, 10:44 AM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,577
I was going to buy a freeview hdd & dvd recorder with hdmi upscaling (£80 for 120gb & DVDR) until now

I've never heard of freesat, might be worth going for that instead I guess?

How much do the freesat recievers cost?

I'm using a USB DVB-T atm on my HTPC
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.