Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-04-08, 12:24 PM
rrjwilson rrjwilson is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 574
OCZ Reaper HPC PC2-8500 being naughty

Ok so be rig is ok its just a little bit muppety. The RAM is the above and is rated as 1066MHz at 2.2V stated with timings of 5-5-5-15. At the stock voltage i can get the timings (after some fiddling ) but only 930MHz (not bad really). The problem is when i put the voltage up to the "required" voltage of 2.2V to get 1066MHz it just refuses to boot. I have had it going at this speed but due to further tinkering i had to reset and cannot get back Are there any muppet things i'm doing out of habit more than sense? Should i try cranking the voltage rebooting then the speed? or maybe the other way round?

Hardware:

Windows XP Pro x64

Asus Striker Extreme 680i

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 3.0GHz (1333MHz - 333 x 9) G0 stepping

2Gb OCZ ReaperHPC PC2-8500 (930Mhz - 465MHz 5-5-5-15-2T)

2x 160Gb SATA2 Maxtor DiamondMax +10 (System Disk and Documents)

2x 320Gb SATA2 Maxtor DiamondMax +11 (Audio and Video)

2x Asus Extreme 8800GTX (600Mhz, 1000Mhz, 1406MHz) in SLi

Thermaltake 1200W PSU

Asus MW221u Monitor

Artic Cooling Freezer Pro 7

Coolermaster 4-in-3 Hard disk cooler

Drivers:

1503 BIOS

9.53 680i SLi Intel Edition

163.75 8800GTX driver

DirectX 9.0c

All Voltages: [Auto]

Results:

CSS VST @ 1680x1050 16x AA 16x AF - 318.11fps

3DMark06 @ defaults - 16069 - 6138 - 7513 - 4778

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-04-08, 01:52 PM
Luigi Luigi is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,499
the voltage on the striker is rather odd, i used to own one of the boards. normally putting it down makes it more stable. ie my tracers wouldnt go over 800mhz with 2.3v, lower it to 2v and they got to 1000mhz... its the most random board ever that one, good luck
__________________
Luigi

-----------

Project: Flat Pack - Coming soon
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-04-08, 09:54 PM
rrjwilson rrjwilson is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 574
Ok I used Everest and found it most useful to retrieve the actual imprinted Expert settings (including some memory timings that were not published when purchased). I proceeded to enter these settings and could not POST. I then tried entering each setting the POSTing and entering the next. When I bump up the speed the something gets angry. All other settings seem to have no problems. Annoyed? Yep Any ideas or even things that might help you just say.
Enhanced Performance Profile
Profile Name: High Frequency

Optimal Performance Profile: Yes

Memory Speed: DDR2-1066 (533MHz)

Voltage: 2.3V

Memory Timings: 5-5-5-15 (CL-RCD-RP-RAS)

Row Cycle Time (tRC): 22T

Command Rate (CR): 2T

Write Recovery Time (tWR): 6T
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.