Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-09-04, 07:33 AM
boardy boardy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,150
Athlon 64

Ok I've been watching sigs, I know it's really sad but I like to know what machines people are running .

How many of you have actually gone AMD64 in some form or other. If you have gone 64 can you post with what your proc and mobo is please?

I'm thinking of building a 64 server so want to know the most common mix basically and this will help.

Cheers

Boardy

__________________
At absalute zerro all moleculer motion stops, and you can hear a Canadian say: "Think I may need a coat!"

Benching - CPU's = E6600 & Q6600 G0 SLACR / Mobo's = P5B "Vanilla" (stock) & P5WDH-D (fully vModded) / RAM = 1Gb PC5300 Crucial Ballistix Tracers & 1Gb Team Xtreem PC6400 custom / HDD = 160Gb IDE Cudda



(highest rank ever: 25th at 05 Nov 2006 12:30, most hwboints ever: 127.6 points at 05 Nov 2006 12:30)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-09-04, 08:05 AM
Animal Animal is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 439
See Sig

oh btw the chip is a newcastle..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-09-04, 09:39 AM
Platty Platty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
Will be going A64 this week once me chip arrives.

MSI K8N Neo2

AMF FX53
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-09-04, 12:16 PM
nick25
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Still waiting for a good mobo and have been for what seems like 5 years
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-09-04, 06:45 PM
Ted Ted is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 12
Well I'm using an A64 3200 with an Asus K8V Se Deluxe but wouldn't recommend it for OC'ing as you can't up the CPU multiplier and if you up the FSB instead then Raid ceases to work as the controller chip doesn't like it, if you're not planning to OC then it'll be fine.
__________________
Mach II, A64 3200, K8V SE, 2Gb Corsair RAM, 9800 XT, 2 x 74Gb Raptors Striped
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-09-04, 07:21 PM
fatty fatty is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,630
As sig mate but if you want it to be reliable don't o/c the msi mobo loool
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-09-04, 07:49 PM
Wingz Wingz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 114
i have a FX53 cpu which i brought 1 month ago for £450 but not used it yet as i was waiting for a AMD64 mounting kit + waiting for a mature 939 board.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-09-04, 07:16 AM
fatty fatty is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,630
£450 nice price I had to pay £500 for mine but it was the last in the uk loool the msi will be a great board maybe wait for the revision 2 to come out mine is good but has a few probs
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-09-04, 03:00 PM
Wingz Wingz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 114
The DFI 93 board won't be out for a while so the Asus the next next best board to buy.

just got my new 3.4 Prescott going to test it out later tonight.

btw my name is now Wingz (thanks Phil)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-09-04, 07:27 PM
boardy boardy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,150
Nice one guys cheers. Think 939 is the way to go then, think the FX is a little too expensive atm and 2 FX's would just be over the top . Thinking 3500 for a BFV, UT2k4, and CoD dedicated server.

Thanks

Boardy
__________________
At absalute zerro all moleculer motion stops, and you can hear a Canadian say: "Think I may need a coat!"

Benching - CPU's = E6600 & Q6600 G0 SLACR / Mobo's = P5B "Vanilla" (stock) & P5WDH-D (fully vModded) / RAM = 1Gb PC5300 Crucial Ballistix Tracers & 1Gb Team Xtreem PC6400 custom / HDD = 160Gb IDE Cudda



(highest rank ever: 25th at 05 Nov 2006 12:30, most hwboints ever: 127.6 points at 05 Nov 2006 12:30)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:36 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.