Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Rig Gallery
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-03-04, 12:22 PM
Brwmogazos Brwmogazos is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 441
Brwmogazos setup...

Heres some pics of my setup...

i have been using watercooling as well with my mach 2 but i had it removed lately...

heres some very old pics with the watercooling installed and running...

My rig has undergone several hardware changes by then as well...



Full size pics here.... http://briefcase.pathfinder.gr/conte...wmogazos/14595

Waterchill removed..



Full size pics here...

http://briefcase.pathfinder.gr/contents/MGTDSTRA/18883

__________________


^^14-07-2004^^Prescott skt 478 D0 @306FSB 1.632V
  #2  
Old 04-04-04, 03:51 PM
Shane5578 Shane5578 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
looks great. but i'm just wondering how your coolermaster case is fastened to the unit?

i'm dreading cutting my cm111 to fit on my vapo LS
  #3  
Old 04-04-04, 03:59 PM
Phil Stanbridge Phil Stanbridge is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,558
hey - you're getting a Vapo mate? What made you opt for that over the ST? The Mach II comes with 4 7mm screws that go through the case. You do have to cut it - I bet its the same for the Vapo to. Out of interest, I'd like to know how you get on with your new rig - apparently only 35 LS's have been produced thus far, for whatever reason, so you'll be one of the lucky ones.
  #4  
Old 04-04-04, 04:25 PM
Shane5578 Shane5578 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
the site said they were in stock, it was an impulse buy. purely on looks - brand new compressor and the price was decent, also heard it cools better than the original mach2

been browsing your website for a modified pc60. i think it'll fit on the vapo ls. since they have the same mounting holes.
  #5  
Old 04-04-04, 04:57 PM
Phil Stanbridge Phil Stanbridge is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,558
The Vapo LS actually uses an old compressor mate, they have just regassed it with 507. It does perform better than the Mach II at 220w but you have to run the fans at the equivalent of turbo to reach the desired temps, which in turn means it's going to be noisier than the Mach II unfortunately, certainly from the people I have spoken to they have confirmed that. However, if its a performance rig you want then that is what you'll get. You have to make a comprimise somewhere along the line. It does look quite nice though I agree.

Reference the fitting of the LS, it uses exactly the same mounting technique which means in theory at least, you can use any case you want with it. So let me know if you want me to sort you out with a modified case.
  #6  
Old 06-04-04, 12:44 AM
Shane5578 Shane5578 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
after doing some research i found this , they look very similar though.

vapochill XE

http://www.danfoss.com/Compressors/p...3_Cd46a702.pdf

mach2

http://www.danfoss.com/Compressors/p...3_Cd43y522.pdf

vapochill LS

http://www.danfoss.com/compressors/p...2_Cf53b202.pdf
  #7  
Old 06-04-04, 03:22 AM
Brwmogazos Brwmogazos is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane5578
looks great. but i'm just wondering how your coolermaster case is fastened to the unit?

i'm dreading cutting my cm111 to fit on my vapo LS
Its not.

I didnt even bother...well why shoud i?

I used a black and decker power tool to cut the CM thick aluminium for the hose to fit and thats it...oh forgot...had to mod the mobo back plate as well by cutting a square piece for the back plate of the intel kit to fit as well...

Its all good.
__________________


^^14-07-2004^^Prescott skt 478 D0 @306FSB 1.632V
  #8  
Old 06-04-04, 03:29 AM
Brwmogazos Brwmogazos is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane5578
the site said they were in stock, it was an impulse buy. purely on looks - brand new compressor and the price was decent, also heard it cools better than the original mach2

been browsing your website for a modified pc60. i think it'll fit on the vapo ls. since they have the same mounting holes.
Noise levels is something thats gonna make you feel sick after a while mate if youre running your rig 24/7 and not only for benching...

believe me been there and i even had my case sound proofed when i used to use 9 fans in my rig...the mach 2 in normal operation is no louder than the intel stock heatsink and 4 CM blue led fans running @ minimum revs throug a nexus fan bus....thats in my setup...

So yeah i am getting a GT and not the LS myself

Spending £550 for a unit and then being dissapointed or pissed off by its noise levels isnt something i am gonna risk...
__________________


^^14-07-2004^^Prescott skt 478 D0 @306FSB 1.632V
  #9  
Old 06-04-04, 07:42 AM
Phil Stanbridge Phil Stanbridge is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,558
Shane will get his unit today, so I hope he reports back here and lets us know what its like. Ben at Chillblast said it was a very good performer - looked the dogs choppers too, but unfortunately was loud even at idle.
  #10  
Old 06-04-04, 05:00 PM
Shane5578 Shane5578 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
ok i've just rebuilt my whole rig.

it took a long time, because i only had a 5inch hacksaw to cut my coolermaster.

there was some plinking noises at the start but seems to be ok now.

its louder than my 7v delta ehe, there are small vibrations comming from the unit, i suppose thats typical.

my 3.0c test cpu is here at 4ghz and seeing evaporator temps of -45c from the LCD. max i've seen it was at -50c. i didn't have any artic silver, so used the same gunk from the pins and spread it ontop

my unit was damaged during transit. the left side panel has become warped, looks like the compressor was banged against it . i don't like rma's, so i'm just going to fix it later. maybe get an extra panel.

oh theres some splashing noises, kinda like a half filled radiator. i'm hoping it will go away after some time.

all n all i'm happy with my rig, it was surprisingly easy to setup. needs more tweaking. i'll post pics later.

i need to download the CC software and clean up my bedroom. see yas
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.