Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Rig Gallery
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-03-04, 04:46 PM
ZaX ZaX is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 428
Mosfet & Northbridge Cooling

Hi,

I had some spare P2 CPU fans so I thought I'd cool the Mosfets and Northbridge...


  #2  
Old 28-03-04, 07:50 PM
Phil Stanbridge Phil Stanbridge is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,558
Interesting mate, have you noticed any difference at all, apart from the extra noise?
  #3  
Old 28-03-04, 07:55 PM
ZaX ZaX is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 428
Not really but I'm hoping that lower mobo temp means a more stable system, still tweaking and testing.
  #4  
Old 28-03-04, 08:47 PM
Phil Stanbridge Phil Stanbridge is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,558
I suppose its possible you'll get lower system temps, but the problem is the air is blowing in all directions, and in actual fact you might find you're blowing hot air over the other components, or sucking hot air in from the rest of the system and making it worse
  #5  
Old 28-03-04, 08:55 PM
ZaX ZaX is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 428
See the blue wires? they're temp sensors. I move them around so I can monitor the temperature of things, these little fans do make difference especially on the Northbridge.
  #6  
Old 28-03-04, 08:59 PM
Phil Stanbridge Phil Stanbridge is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,558
Superb mate, well thought out.

Well thats just pissed on my fireworks hasnt it.
  #7  
Old 28-03-04, 10:30 PM
Brwmogazos Brwmogazos is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 441
Are these temp probes coming from you lian li thermometer bay?

I had one well still have it from my last PC 65 and i removed the thermometers out of it...was thinking of sticking them in my rig...may do in the future ...

The batteries they came with are dead though...dunno where i can get hold of some...

And something else mate.

My lian li temp probes had a little tape in order to attach them in hot surfaces...i used it though in the past and i got no more now...i tried different solutions but still nothing compared to that tape...

Have you got any of that tape and do you know where i could get some?

i remember searching for days in google to find a tape to withstand 100C temperatures etc...
__________________


^^14-07-2004^^Prescott skt 478 D0 @306FSB 1.632V
  #8  
Old 29-03-04, 04:52 AM
ZaX ZaX is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 428
That's right they're from my Lian Li temperature monitor bay. I've run out of that tape too, I just tend to jam the sensors in places but you're right, need to get some more of that tape. How about that stuff that you stick ram sinks on with, that should do it.
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:12 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.