Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-11-07, 07:20 PM
gsoper gsoper is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Beginner graphics card problem

OK,

I helped a friend pick a PC (HP dx2250) chosen primarily on the basis of cost. This was fine until she started playing Second Life. So we got a graphics card (MSI GeForce 8400GS 256MB GDDR2 PCIE DVI TVO 450/800) based on the requirements of Second Life as per its website. After she had installed it she had no video output from the original VGA socket or the one on the card. After a bit of investigation she suspects it is the power supply of the PC. It's 250 watt but the support section of MSI's website suggests a minimum of 300w. This is annoying because the site we bought it from and MSI's page for the card itself (http://www.msicomputer.com/product/p...256E&class=vga) make no mention of power requirements.

So the first question is, is this most likely to be the problem or is there anything else she should try?

Secondly, if this is the problem then what options does she have with a 250w power supply? Are there any options for less power hungry cards that will still be enough for Second Life or will this need a new power supply? If so then is a new power supply an easy thing to fit?

Thanks,

Geoff

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-07, 07:30 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Right, power is a big problem when it comes to GPUs.

So I would recommend upgrading the Powersupply so you can unleash the 8400.

I would get a 350watt or more PSU. Then you should be flying.

But it is weird that it is not giving a single output. Usually the card would go into low power mode. :eh:

Welcome to OC3D matey!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-07, 08:16 PM
Yeungster Yeungster is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 471
Do you have access to another psu? If so you could try swapping it over.

If not then can you try the graphics card in another machine?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-07, 09:53 PM
Pat123 Pat123 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Uni), Darlington (Home)
Posts: 1,767
But the 8400 should use hardly any power at all really. But yeh, try swicthing the PSU out with a friends or something or putting the card in a friends machine
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-07, 10:17 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Pat123'
But the 8400 should use hardly any power at all really. But yeh, try swicthing the PSU out with a friends or something or putting the card in a friends machine
"Recommended 300watts" They only have 250watts..
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-11-07, 12:54 PM
gsoper gsoper is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
If the problem is power then what would people suggest for this PC given that it has a 250w power supply and my friend would like better performance in Second Life?

We'd rather not go down the route of replacing the power supply on a brand new PC.

Thanks,

Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13-11-07, 12:58 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
You don't want to change the 250watt?

You will need to change to at least a 350watt to get better performance from the 8400.

It is an easy job. But maybe go for a 400watt for a little bit of future proof.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13-11-07, 01:01 PM
gsoper gsoper is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Toxcity'
You don't want to change the 250watt?

You will need to change to at least a 350watt to get better performance from the 8400.

It is an easy job. But maybe go for a 400watt for a little bit of future proof.
Well, we'd prefer not to change it and instead get a card that needs less power. That said, it's not a matter of getting better performance, at the moment we're getting no performance i.e. a blank display!

Thanks,

Geoff
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13-11-07, 01:19 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Well, it will be hard to find a card that needs less power these days.

An 8400 is probably the lowest power consumer you will find.

So we either change the PSU.. or we get rid of the GPU. And go back to the old one.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13-11-07, 01:46 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
A psu change would be needed for like any upgrade - even a 6600gt needs more i think...a 400w psu would be dirt cheap!
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.