Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 10-08-07, 08:26 AM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
Good review Jim, this is comething that i would be interested in. As you pointed out, if you could put for example freeview through the box and record off it, then this would be a must buy. I was surprised that the lack of s-video out, as all 3 of my t.v.'s have s-video in's

__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 28-08-07, 12:56 PM
Pingman Pingman is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
I found your article after randomly seeing the Icybox Ib-MP301 for sale on SCAN, so did a quick google search to find out more. I must say, a very good article.

The reason i was interested in the Ib-MP301 is because i bought a simular product last year, The Rapsody RSH 110. CLICK ME

Just wondered what your opinion is on the Rapsody as it's very simular to the Icybox. Im over the moon with mine. Maybe you'd consider doing an official review if youcan get hold of one?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31-08-07, 02:27 PM
Deadman Deadman is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 1
Some solutions to the "ok" media player

First of all the player only supports FAT32 so use f.e. this software to format

http://www.compuapps.com/download/Sw...swissknife.htm

Second if you've not put any files on the drive like one avi file it will display "No Disk".

Thirdly unplug it from the USB (from the back of the UNIT also) before using it on a secondary monitor or TV otherwise it will be giving you problems.

and finally it wont let you copy files over 4GB do to fat32 limitations, and does not support high defination files.

Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-09-07, 02:38 PM
micheal-murphy micheal-murphy is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 4
Help Icy Box Mp301

hi i just bought an icy box and fitted a 500gb Seagate Barracuda IDE 16mb drive. When i hook the MP301 upto my pc, it doesn't detect it and the player displays "read" on its display and doesn't change. I know i have to format the drive in FAT32, but do i have to do this before i fit it into the player or can i do it through the usb at a later stage? I know it's probably somethin obvious I'm doing wrong. Any help would be much appeciated
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-09-07, 05:02 PM
carlt carlt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
MP301 Only sees 1200 files and now won't see anything else!

I have the MP301 with a 500Gb drive partitioned as primary and formatted as FAT32.

Mine registers a maximum of 1,200 files at about 15% done and stops counting even though it continues to scan up to 100%. 3000 would be a luxury!

The current format was done with h2format.exe although I previously tried the same with swissknife.

I thought I could live with the 1,200 limit if I could get it to see the 1,200 I actually want to play. It seems to have read the folders in reverse order so I copied around 1,200 files to a folder called XMedia, so it was clearly the last folder. The MP301 just ignores it.

I've tried moving XMedia to various locations. I've tried different format tools and re-copying the files. It only ever sees the original 1,200 files. If I delete those leaving only XMedia, it sees nothing!

How can I get it to forget the first 1,200 it saw and scan again?

Better still, how can I get it to see the 10,000 files I actually have?

Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 11-09-07, 05:15 PM
accumulator accumulator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Bit more information

This seems really good and cheap alternative to HTPC's. I am however only insterested as using it as sound server sort of.

Can someone tell me whether you can set this to randomly play all the MP3 files on the hard drive, or do you have to pick out certain tracks, using the remote. Can you also use this is without a screen? Can you pick out certain tracks to play or what?

Does anyone know whether remote is IR or is it wireless? The reason I ask is that I have Russound multi-room sound system in the house, which gives you six different inputs which are controlled by IR repeaters. I could set up two of these identically and have different music playing in various rooms.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11-09-07, 05:40 PM
carlt carlt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 14
I've not had mine long and not really got much use so far due to the problems above.

Anyway, I haven't seen a random play function mentioned. I'd be pleased if there is one though. There is a programming function to setup playlists or similar but it looks clunky.

You'll need a screen connected by VGA or composite to operate it.

The remore is definitely IR and is actually quite directional although not sure if that's because the sensor is weak or the transmitter puts out a narrow beam.

Hope that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-09-07, 05:01 PM
accumulator accumulator is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Thanks for the info.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 22-09-07, 05:41 PM
Furious Furious is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Hi, could you comment on the User Interface? Is it difficult to navigate? Also, is the fan loud or quiet?

Thanks.

Also i am curious to know how the firmware upgrade is performed?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 12-10-07, 08:23 PM
Mind Mind is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
1200 files limit in MP301

Hi! I have the same problem... It just recognizes 1.200 files of more than 30.000 I stored... Any ideas on how to solve this? Is there something we can do on this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='carlt'
I have the MP301 with a 500Gb drive partitioned as primary and formatted as FAT32.

Mine registers a maximum of 1,200 files at about 15% done and stops counting even though it continues to scan up to 100%. 3000 would be a luxury!

The current format was done with h2format.exe although I previously tried the same with swissknife.

I thought I could live with the 1,200 limit if I could get it to see the 1,200 I actually want to play. It seems to have read the folders in reverse order so I copied around 1,200 files to a folder called XMedia, so it was clearly the last folder. The MP301 just ignores it.

I've tried moving XMedia to various locations. I've tried different format tools and re-copying the files. It only ever sees the original 1,200 files. If I delete those leaving only XMedia, it sees nothing!

How can I get it to forget the first 1,200 it saw and scan again?

Better still, how can I get it to see the 10,000 files I actually have?

Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.