Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-07-07, 01:21 PM
kataras kataras is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 323
Project: The Serv0r

Hey all, its been a while since i was thinking of building a game server and then colocating it somewhere. Anyway cut the bul...

So, i already have E6320 (seemed the best choice at that time)

i m gonna get GA-965P-DS3

The thing is im not too sure what ram i should get, (the cost is really important as i dont want to spend too much).

I was thinking of getting one off these:

OCZ 2GB 2x1GB PC2-6400 800Mhz DDR2 Platinum Edition CL 4-4-4-15

or

Patriot memory 2 X 1 Gb PC2 6400 Kit PDC22G6400LLK CL 4-4-4-12

edit: specialtech had some ram i am interested in, but they didnt seem to have any in stock

I know going second hand is not the smartest option especially when it involves servers and stuff, but thats exactly what i want to spend. Give me some bullet points which ever ones i should get. plus, i heard that patriot uses Micron D9 chips, is that right?

Ill add pictures of the case and cpu later on :P

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-07-07, 01:23 PM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
You should really try and go for more than 2gb if it will be a busy game server mate
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-07-07, 02:57 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I agree - something like 4gb is a good place to start
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23-08-07, 04:48 PM
kataras kataras is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 323
Hello, just came back from holiday, finding all my parts delivered and ready to be assembled. So another update, pictures and specs:

PS. Sorry about picture quality i am no photographer and i should really get another camera

1. The heart of the server, CPU, intel Core 2 Duo E6320 1.86Ghz 4Mb got it for well cheap, was interested in E2160 but since 6320 was offered for the same price, i couldnt resist to have bigger cache, well hell lot bigger, 8 times bigger







2. The motherboard, got Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 3,3rev well known for outstanding overclocking results, and overall great mobo





3. RAM, got these for well cheap, Patriot PC2-6400 4-4-4-12, sorry but have already seated the modules, didnt want to touch them



4. Cooling, well i did do loads of research on this one, but heck it, couldnt find anything, so bought this one ThemalTake CL-P0187, thing weighs nearly half a kilo so guess thats a good thing





5. 3.5 grams of AS5



6. Because decided to go with non-integrated graphics, i had to find PCI graphics, Hercules 3D Prophet 4000XT 32Mb PCI, well at least it didnt cost me anything and doesnt steal any ram memory.



also needs PCI riser to be fitted in 1U case



7. Server case with Zippy 300W PSU, just love it in black





sorry no pics of hard drives, since they are already in the case and didnt bother to open it. But once ill start building ill definitelly takes some pics of them.

Anyway, since im here, one question, what OS would you recommend to have on this dedicated gaming server? Already have Windows Server 2003 Standard Edition key (good friend, gave me that for free ), heard that Linux servers are a lot more stable, but i am a complete Linux virgin so dunno hot to configure it or anything like that
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-08-07, 04:54 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Seeing as it's uber powerful and ur familiar with it I'd go for Win 2l3 tbh
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23-08-07, 05:14 PM
MikeEnIke MikeEnIke is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,488
I agree with Kemp unless you have any linux experience. Linux really is the best for servers, but it's not worth learning if you already know 2k3.
__________________
Intel C2D e6600 @ 3.6Ghz

G.Skill DDR2-800

Abit FP-IN9

BFG 8800GTS 630/1000

Seagate 360GB and 160GB SATA II 7200 RPM

Cooler Master iGreen 500w Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-08-07, 06:04 AM
Nagaru Nagaru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,272
Looks cool, what are you going to do about getting around not having a keyboard plugged in?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-08-07, 07:05 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Seeing as it's uber powerful and ur familiar with it I'd go for Win 2l3 tbh
Yep both the OC3D servers use 2k3. They used to have Linux on them (and managed an uptime of 120 days), but when something goes wrong you need to be extremely experienced to fix it.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-08-07, 09:00 AM
kataras kataras is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nagaru'
Looks cool, what are you going to do about getting around not having a keyboard plugged in?
Well the server's gonna be collocated in docklands so not only it wont have keyboard plugged in but monitor, mouse, speakers as well the only two things which get plugged in are Ethernet cable, and power cable

Thanks to all, i think too Windows is best choice just because its easier to work on. But what im gonna do i think, while the server is still with me, i will put some sort of distro of linux on it and see how i get on running server from home connection. If i ll have problems installing mods, heck it ill put windows on it
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-08-07, 09:17 PM
kataras kataras is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 323
Hello, some little update here:



Had a chance to open the case up and so took a pic with nearly everything what should go in there, las time forgot to show hdds, now you can see them barely 2x WD Raptors 36Gb. But unfortunately the project will have to wait some more time to get finished as i got into dark end. The thing is the graphics card, it f**ks everything up, i cant put it in the case since the riser is too tall. Some peeps would like ti think that you dunno need one, especially when its a server, but i just have to have it, in case of some problem or something liek that. So what ill have to do is order PCI-E 1u riser and some low-end, w/ passive heatsink pci-e gfx to go with it. But its real pain in arse to find a pci-e riser which companies would have in stock. already found one site which sells them, but has to order them first. got that far, so cant give up
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.