Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-08-07, 08:08 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Need HD encoder or something?

I want to encode some movies to HD but idk what program i can use to do that. Any help would be much obliged

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-08-07, 09:28 AM
nrage nrage is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 309
Looks like Virtualdub and the HC encoder should do what you want.

http://www.videohelp.com/forum/archi...p-t333951.html

This link is actually about turning single frame images into HD video but the software should be the same for you I suspect.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-08-07, 07:16 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Will it turn regular movies into HD movies? Cause thats what i wanna do. Make like a regular .AVI and turn it into a high quality movie.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-08-07, 09:15 AM
Phunky Phunky is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
Will it turn regular movies into HD movies? Cause thats what i wanna do. Make like a regular .AVI and turn it into a high quality movie.
You cant do that - you wont ever be able to increase the quality of a .avi or anything like that as its already been encoded.

Its like trying to increase a 64kbps MP3 to a 320kbps one - it aint going to happen.

You can "SCALE" DVD's to HD Resolution but they still wont look any where as good as HD Content.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-08-07, 10:39 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Quote:
Its like trying to increase a 64kbps MP3 to a 320kbps one - it aint going to happen.
Umm you sure? Because i turn my normal CD trakcs and rip them into Windows Lossless Audio. It sounds ALOT better. And ive seen MANY people talk about how they encode on the fly while watching movies in HD.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-08-07, 11:00 AM
Phunky Phunky is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
i turn my normal CD trakcs and rip them into Windows Lossless Audio.
Cos your taking it from the Source you cant make a 64kbps into a Lossless audio file as it has already been encoded and lossed parts of the sound.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PP Mguire'
And ive seen MANY people talk about how they encode on the fly while watching movies in HD.
That make no sense with what you are asking - you can not make a .avi file equal the same quality as HD, you can increase the resolution but that does not make it HD Quality.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-08-07, 11:06 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
It`s a similar arguement to alot of the movies they show on the HD channels. Many of them don`t exist in HD, but they`re encoded better than the standard mpg u get through a regular digital signal. Doesn`t mean it looks any better than the standard dvd version of the film.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-08-07, 11:11 AM
Phunky Phunky is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 269
You can upscale DVD very well to 1080i and the image will look VERY decent for DVD but will be nothing compared to a true 1080i source.

http://projecthtpc.co.uk/software3results.html

Check the above page for images showing the differnce of well scalled DVDs
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-08-07, 11:14 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
Yeah cos which ever way u look at it, u`r making 1 pixel = 4 pixels (as a bad example).
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-08-07, 11:24 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
As on the fly thing its hard to explain. They kept on saying how while watching the movie they where making it HD on the fly and how they needed such a great processor to do it or else their sound and all would be off. Idk, it was over my head. But i figured since i can encode audio files i should be able to encode movies as well.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:06 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.