Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-08-07, 12:49 PM
AmBush AmBush is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 148
Suspect Enermax 650w any Ideas?

My 2nd Rig is going through a phase of spontaneous Rebooting (no BSOD) Sometimes even just Switching off

The only changes i've made prior to this are
  1. Replace OCZ520w PSU
  2. Add 2nd 8600GS (which Worked with the mobo when it was in my gaming rig)

Enermax Infinity (650w 2nd Rig)



Enermax Infinity 720w (In my Gaming Rig)

Both taken after an Hour

I Have Ruled Out the possibility of Hard Disk problems (by buying a NEW one) and Clean Install of Windows with Only ONE SATA no Sound card, TV or WiFi.

Even with the Latest drivers it Still Falls over Anyone else think it Could be something else other than PSU? last time i had to RMA a PSU it cost £20 (about 5 years ago)

Any more info needed? Added a Couple of attachments (The screenshot jus before it shut down & Everest System Summary)
Attached Images
File Type: png untitled5.PNG (210.3 KB, 28 views)
Attached Files
File Type: txt Everest_Summary.txt (3.0 KB, 8 views)

__________________


You Can Dance on my Grave If you like

I'm getting buried at Sea
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-08-07, 12:27 PM
AmBush AmBush is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 148
*bump*

I Was hoping to get this sorted by now i have tried
  • reinstalling XP (again)
  • previous graphics drivers
  • also tried removing Wi-Fi card and moving TV Card & Sound card down
made no difference

also tried playing a couple of tracks on another machine the mp3's are ok

The only other SLI PSU I have is in my Gaming Rig, and i'm NOT gonna start messing wif that. I can't afford to buy a new one yet
__________________


You Can Dance on my Grave If you like

I'm getting buried at Sea
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-08-07, 09:37 AM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
The PC worked before you changed the PSU? Have you tried the old PSU back in the machine to see if it still happens? If it does still reboot etc with a different PSU then it is not the enermax.... (obviously if all is well with the old psu you can safely conclude it is the problem and RMA it)

If you can't pin it on the psu, you'd then need to strip your machine down to the bare essentials: cpu, 1 stick of ram, gpu and get into some fault finding!

I guess memtest the ram for a while, orthos your cpu to see if it is ok, check you have locked your pcie frequency as sata is sensitive and that could cause issues... Hmmm. Lots of things to try... Give a picture of your pc, components, OC, bios settings...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-08-07, 12:24 AM
AmBush AmBush is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 148
Cheers for the ideas Mr.S I Downloaded orthos Left it run for 11Hrs 56mins no probs, as i went to watch a .avi my display went haywire

So i've took it all out of the case Ran Memtest No probs there.

I Have notice the problem More when listening to MP3's also played from the NEW drive still stuttering (To discount the possibility the mp3's are corrupt i played them on another machine mp3's OK)

One thing i noticed when i booted up SLI was acting up it may be coincidence, but i'll look @ the GPU's too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Give a picture of your pc, components, OC, bios settings...
Componants listed in attachment in first post m8.

__________________


You Can Dance on my Grave If you like

I'm getting buried at Sea
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-08-07, 08:29 AM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Seems like you could have a sata/pcie frequency problem...

Also with the sound, uninstall/reinstall your drivers. I has a crackling issue and I can't remember what I did to fix it!

I'll mull this over and get back to you, if someone else doesn't beat me to it!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-08-07, 09:01 AM
nrage nrage is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Seems like you could have a sata/pcie frequency problem...

Also with the sound, uninstall/reinstall your drivers. I has a crackling issue and I can't remember what I did to fix it!

I'll mull this over and get back to you, if someone else doesn't beat me to it!
I had crackling sound once and it was caused by IRQ conflict. My sound crackled as I moved the mouse! It was somewhat obvious where the conflict was

I'd suggest trying all these one at a time:

1. Toggling the PnP OS/Resources controlled by/etc setting in the bios

2. Resetting the configuration data (ESCD)

3. Checking the IRQ assignment for the sound card, and comparing it to other hardware, disable the other hardware and see if it solves the sound issue.

It's possible the sound card is sharing an IRQ with the video card and you obviously cannot disable the video card so, if the sound card is in a PCI slot, move it. Each PCI slot typically has a limited selection of IRQ's and moving it may allow it to select a new one.

4. Update to the latest sound drivers (I assume from your earlier comment you've already done this)

5. Lower the hardware acceleration for the sound card, turn it off entirely.

I assume you cannot put the old PSU back in as Mr S suggested?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-08-07, 05:01 PM
AmBush AmBush is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 148
The Old PSU can be put in but it was non-SLI certifierd I didn't want to but i may have to take PSU from my Game Rig

I noticed while running 2x GPU' (ALL Stock settings) Rivatuner repots the Core Voltage on GPU Dropping from 425Mhz to 351Mhz, This happens while running One in non-SLI mode too (ATM i am running)
  1. Leadtek 6800GS
  2. Samsung SP2504C
  3. Sony DVD/RW
  4. 2x Corsair512Mb

nrage I Really don't think its a Sound issue but i'll look into your other ideas also the drivers i'm using Worked prior.

I'll try the PSU From my Game rig which i didn't want to mess with

see how that goes.
Attached Images
File Type: png untitled9.PNG (159.8 KB, 1 views)
File Type: png untitled10.PNG (154.1 KB, 2 views)
__________________


You Can Dance on my Grave If you like

I'm getting buried at Sea
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-08-07, 05:40 PM
nrage nrage is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AmBush'
nrage I Really don't think its a Sound issue but i'll look into your other ideas also the drivers i'm using Worked prior.
The drivers might very well be perfectly fine but if you have an IRQ conflict the sound might stutter/crackle etc.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-08-07, 05:58 PM
AmBush AmBush is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 148
point noted *slaps myself for not thinking* :damn:
__________________


You Can Dance on my Grave If you like

I'm getting buried at Sea
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-08-07, 06:31 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Any one know if there's a way too check you IRQ assignments without having too go though device manager and check each individually?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.