Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 24-07-07, 06:28 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
I very much doubt you'll hit 4ghz with a Q6600 Even if it is a G0...

Good idea, you've only got a month or so to wait. If I have money in a couple of months I'll do the same, I got my E6300 this morn
LOL - look again bud, 4ghz for 6850... Man, 4ghz on a q6600 would be awesome, one guy has 3.9 at xs!

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
What about getting a Xeon X3210
The 2.4 version is about £360, the q6600 is about £190...

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 24-07-07, 06:29 PM
prosser13 prosser13 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 309
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
LOL - look again bud, 4ghz for 6850... Man, 4ghz on a q6600 would be awesome, one guy has 3.9 at xs!
What cooling is he using?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 24-07-07, 06:34 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
The 2.4 version is about £360, the q6600 is about £190...
The X3210 is about the same price (£149.99+VAT), altho the multi is different (2.13Ghz instead of 2.4Ghz). I was reading about someone getting 4Ghz from a xeon with g0 timings.

Not sure what sort of thermal differences there are between them (if any), but I would expect the xeons to be good as they are for servers (rack etc).
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 24-07-07, 07:06 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='prosser13'
What cooling is he using?
Water

Just noticed its an eng sample...

oh well, still, have a look through, there are plenty of decent OC's

Edit: Eq - surely its exactly the same situation then? Looking for x3210 G0 instead of a q6600 G0... Where did you get that price mate?
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 24-07-07, 08:08 PM
prosser13 prosser13 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 309
Nice, I take back my comment then

http://www.yoyotech.co.uk/product_in...oducts_id=4473

£264 for a X3210...the Q6600 is only £163 from the same shop
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 24-07-07, 10:38 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'

Where did you get that price mate?
on OcUK

not sure how much it is other places, but Xeons are norm quite good
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.