Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-07-07, 12:11 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Draining.

Right, How do I drain a whole loop?

I would expect the water to get stuck in the Rad.

I don't really wanna take the loop apart.. Anyone know any tricks?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-07-07, 12:15 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
What barbs you use?

compression barbs you dont have too drain the loop too take it out

but basicly, disconnect a pipe at the bottom (pump in?) of the loop OVER A BOWL and let it drain. Tip the pc/unmount the rad and tip too get the rest out.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-07-07, 12:18 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
So Basically.. I have to unmount the Rad?

More work!

Okay cool!

Ill get around to it laters.

Can I not just unmount the Res and tip from there?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-07-07, 12:40 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I'm to lazy to take off my RAD so I just leave it to drain for a couple of hours after givinh it a good shake
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-07-07, 02:37 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
What Ham said.

I pull out the bay res, open, flip it 180 in a bowl and get as much out like that.

Then I always stretch the pump out of the case, put in in a bowl, twist until a barb comes loose and let it drain.

Tip the case back/forward and the water from the rad comes out.

I just noticed the crap algae killing stuff hasn't worked. My loop has developed algae in the res, pump, and cpu block. I can't see in the rad but I bet it's in there too. I just want to get all my parts in and that damn case polished so I can clean everything up and move into my new case.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-07-07, 02:47 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,416
When u drain from the lowest connection - would u turn the pump on to speed it up ?

Or is there no point, just let gravity do it ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-07-07, 03:04 PM
markkleb markkleb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
When u drain from the lowest connection - would u turn the pump on to speed it up ?

Or is there no point, just let gravity do it ?
I wouldnt run the pump with the lines open as there is a danger of running it dry and that can ruin some bearings.

Like Ham said just flip the comp as needed to drain. (un plugged of course)
__________________
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16-07-07, 03:07 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,416
Gotcha.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 16-07-07, 03:09 PM
Allsorts Allsorts is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 270
Ye I just let gravity do the work, it only takes seconds anyway. As everyone has said already, tilting the case should get the remainder of the water out.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 16-07-07, 04:19 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
How would I go about cleaning the insides?

Without take the whole loop to bits?

Thanks for the feedback so far guys!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:33 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.