Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
View Poll Results: Whitch Os
Xp pro Retail 7 43.75%
Vista Premium OEM 9 56.25%
Voters: 16. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-06-07, 06:00 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
Xp Pro or vista premium oem

well i am planing to get my own windows disk as i am using my dads at the mo just wondering if it would be best to get vista or xp pro

i play allot of css and css was unplayable in the vista beta has it improved for playing games yet?

also vista will be dx10 and have halo 2 on it which i would like to get

so opinions

__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-06-07, 06:44 PM
darkorb darkorb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,220
i would go for vista
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-06-07, 06:58 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
I voted Vista, but isn't there a voucher that comes with recent copies of XP that allows you to upgrade to Vista for minimal/no extra cost?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-06-07, 07:00 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
I say Vista Business Retail.... Hint Hint....

http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthread.php?t=10578
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-06-07, 07:05 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
XP Pro OEM/MCE OEM (cheaper in some stores) and then use the voucher you get to upgrade to Vista when you get a DX10 graphics card
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-07, 07:19 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Whilst I concede that Vista will be the place to be soon enough, you have to bare in mind that until the early months of next year, it could be a bit of a roller coaster with u`r games. Outside of games Vista runs how it`s s`posed to afaik. (notice I didn`t say it runs well )

Sure u`ll get that many more fps on XP for the remainder of this year, but I feel once they`ve sp1`d Vista and a solid vLite version of it is made for u`r install, it`ll be on a par with u`r present XP possibly. Plus of course u add about the dx10 stuffs.

I personally find it hard to believe that dx10 won`t appear for XP - what`s most likely to happen is it`ll appear a number of months after they`ve frightened the fightenable into purchasing Vista b`cos of it.

Meh. Tricky, if u can indeed buy an XP with a substancial wedge-off-vista voucher, I`d probably be inclinded to advise that way.

Both sides have valid points atm.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-07, 07:25 PM
Joe Joe is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,592
futureproof it :: Vista
__________________
Quote:
I got 600 TFLOPS out a potato that i put in a Soc 775 mobo , proof? -- here is a picture of a piece of lint , surley that will suffice
OC3D ScreenSavers ::
|Available Here|

Got an Ipod? :: |Check This Out|


Isabelle Loves OC3D :: |THIS MUCH|





Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-07, 08:09 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
i think frags deal is good

but i also voted vista
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-07, 08:16 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='equk'
XP Pro OEM/MCE OEM (cheaper in some stores) and then use the voucher you get to upgrade to Vista when you get a DX10 graphics card
Agreed
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-07, 09:34 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
I too have the same problem as you matt (you can borrow my disk if you want) as long as you have your own license that is! (hint hint)

Personally it would have to be retail version or no vista at all as I would want to format and upgrade as and how I like. Its would have to be either Home premium or business. I dunno man...wait for the service pack or jump on a deal like frag's now?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.