Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-05-07, 11:22 AM
Slinkiroth Slinkiroth is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 26
Is this better?

Hey. I'm getting a new PC but am not sure if the graphics card that is supplied with the system is better than my current one. MY current graphics card is a 512MB GeForce 6600 and the new card is a 256MB GeForce 8600 GT. Some peopel have said that card is not as good as the 6600. Is this true? Thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-05-07, 11:31 AM
nunzio nunzio is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 774
I'd say this card is better than the 6600, only thing you are giving away is the lack of extra ram.

256mb ram will hit proformance at the higher screen sizes. If you are a 1280x1024 monkey like me, you will want the extra 256.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-05-07, 12:04 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
The 8600 is a FAR superior GPU. Go for that.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-05-07, 12:45 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
The extra 128mb on the older card is likely to be GDDR2 and if it isn't won't make a whole lot of difference as it won't scale at larger resolutions anyway.

The 8600 is a decent card and will outperform the 6600 by quite a bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-05-07, 12:54 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
I`d be interested in who reckons the 8600 isn`t as good as a 6600 - possibly some1 selling a 6600 ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-05-07, 02:39 PM
FghtinIrshNvrDie FghtinIrshNvrDie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 87
the 8600 series beats anything in the 6600 series, period.

The ram on that 6600gt is worthless. It was shown to be almost worthless to move from 128 to 256. The move to 512 would undoubtedly be a waste of money, and the ram may as well not even be there.

Don't even consider it. The 8600 will run circles around the 6600gt in any instance.

Ryan
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.