Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 14-05-07, 06:00 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Being economical with storage on a HTPC

If u have put u`r dvds onto u`r htpc`s hard drive, have u:

a] just used a 1:1 backup util so they`re same size as on dvd

b] used something like rat/shrienk to make them 50% but retained the menus etc (cut the languages out)

c] used something like convertDVDtoX?? to make them into 1 file (then which codec did u find most effiecient ?)

It`s all well and good giving u`rself a tera or so to play with, but dang that space gets used up!

__________________


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 14-05-07, 06:22 PM
Joe Joe is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,592
My rips are small and damn near the original DVD in Quality

personally I use Option C -- I rip all my DVDs to x264 using Gordian Knot

The Video CODEC I use is x264 ~ 1.2 KBps using a dual pass encode with a customish Quant Matrix ... all Encoding Quality options set to high (longer to encode but worth it)

I also take the original 5.1 track and embed it into the video file ... no conversion as it is basically compressing a compressed source and IMHO too risky for audio artifacts

I keep the source res minus Black Bars (auto Crop)

I know what u mean by using a tera ... looking @ adding an extra 500 - 750 Gb Disk to my Raid In my media center/Torrent/File server (aka my dual Xeon workhorse)
__________________
Quote:
I got 600 TFLOPS out a potato that i put in a Soc 775 mobo , proof? -- here is a picture of a piece of lint , surley that will suffice
OC3D ScreenSavers ::
|Available Here|

Got an Ipod? :: |Check This Out|


Isabelle Loves OC3D :: |THIS MUCH|





Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14-05-07, 06:31 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
takes too much time for me to convert to avi or whatever. So i just transcode to dvd5. You do loose a little quality depending on the size.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14-05-07, 07:32 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nathan'
takes too much time for me to convert to avi or whatever. So i just transcode to dvd5. You do loose a little quality depending on the size.
Yeah, I can understand that, it`s kinda the way I was leaning, but the storage situation is getting a bit silly. Looking into the future, I`m gonna be knackered carry on at approx 5g a dvd.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Joe'
My rips are small and damn near the original DVD in Quality

personally I use Option C -- I rip all my DVDs to x264 using Gordian Knot

The Video CODEC I use is x264 ~ 1.2 KBps using a dual pass encode with a customish Quant Matrix ... all Encoding Quality options set to high (longer to encode but worth it)

I also take the original 5.1 track and embed it into the video file ... no conversion as it is basically compressing a compressed source and IMHO too risky for audio artifacts

I keep the source res minus Black Bars (auto Crop)

I know what u mean by using a tera ... looking @ adding an extra 500 - 750 Gb Disk to my Raid In my media center/Torrent/File server (aka my dual Xeon workhorse)
I`m gonna have to adopt something like this. I don`t think the time issue will be that much of a problem.

I think if I try and stick to a routine of watch the dvd `from it`s case` the first time around. Then once it`s over, rip the sucker, probably using a pc setup to do exactly that coz I got a spare 3800x2 that handles video conversions pretty smartly.

As opposed to an approx 5g footprint per dvd - what are u getting ? 1.5g or less ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-06-07, 02:55 PM
weihk weihk is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 343
sorry for bumping old thread back up......

Rastalovich - would a external HDD setup work better for what you need?

i too have a HTPC, but only with 36G worth of HDD space.....but i use a ext-hdd for storing most things in

bought a Akasa intergral ext-hdd, with E-Sata/USB2 blah blah sata/pata config, works pretty well
__________________
I have a thing with Lian-Li...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-06-07, 03:55 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Hey m8,

No, for personal reasons I just cannot stand using complete units, like pcs, laptop, whatever, that require another `unit` plugged into them in order to operate. In this term, storage wize.

As a temp means of moving stuff external drives are excellent. But for a `solution` I would much rather change-out hard drives. I`ve got enough of them about to do that.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-06-07, 07:29 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
As this thread has come alive again, i'll update you lot with a change in mind i had.

I now convert to avi, my main reason for this is because i filled my hard drives already :s So each film is about 1gb.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-06-07, 09:11 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Which method u use nat ? Something like Joe ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-06-07, 09:23 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
yeah, but i cant be arsed to fine tune it ect. So i just use autogk. It still gives some pretty good results.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-06-07, 10:01 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Does it react well to fastforwarding and stuff ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:23 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.