Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 17-04-07, 12:07 PM
kerochi kerochi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 111
Ive got a reservoir setup too yeah.

At the mo it's 36-37C idle and the lowest ive seen it go (when it was quite cold over here) was about 29-32C.

What kind of temps am i supposed to be getting?

I know the quad + 8800gtx is supposed to run very hot so was just wondering if this was normal.

The setup is only a couple months old and i must have cleaned it half a dozen times b4....

But ill take the whole apart anyway coz I have to send the GPU back for an RMA.

Should I throw away the fluid and refill again with new fluid? Thatll prob help i guess but just damn annoying and expensive...

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23-04-07, 08:42 AM
serialk11r serialk11r is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 96
First of all, what voltage and clocks do you have on the kentsfield?

Second, what pump are you using?

Also, water plus biocide is THE BEST COOLANT YOU CAN GET. Someone over at XS reported a 10C drop by switching from FluidXP to water and biocide. Note that many premixed coolants not only have a high concentration of glycol, but also high viscosity
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04-05-07, 12:52 AM
kerochi kerochi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 111
Thanks for the info.

At the mo, Im using Innovatek Protect which is a non-conductive coolant.

I posted the temps I get below.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg temps.JPG (249.4 KB, 14 views)
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 04-05-07, 01:01 AM
NoL NoL is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,441
Those temps are about normal for your setup.
__________________


Send me your food.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 04-05-07, 01:25 AM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
That's fine. I ran a quad for a while, idled in the mid 40's @ 3.9GHz under water in 43f amb.

I recommend downloading CoreTemp. You can get it here.

http://www.thecoolest.zerobrains.com/CoreTemp/
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 04-05-07, 01:46 AM
kerochi kerochi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 111
Whoa, cool program.

I posted the temps I get for the Quad Core.

How come the Cores 0# and 2# are at 55C and the 1# and 3# around 44C?

Average temp seems pretty high even with the WC setup...

Just out of interest, what IS the PWN phase 1-4?

I thought those were points along the mobo? Im a noob
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CoreTemps.JPG (189.8 KB, 10 views)
__________________
Rig:

IN9-32MAX ---> IP35-Pro (beta16.B04)

QX6700 Quad Core 458x7 = 3.2GHz @ 1.37v / Vista32

4 x 1Gb PC8500 Dominator Corsair (4-4-4-12-2T @ 2.1v)

BFG 8800GTX WC (660Mhz/1030Mhz)

2 X WD 150 Raptors - Raid 0

2 X HD501LJ Spinpoint - Raid 1

CoolerMaster M850 PSU


Watercooling setup:

DDC Liang pump + Alphacool 25ml res

DangerDen (GPU Block)

D-Tek Fuzion (CPU Block)

PA120.3 rad + 1/2" tygon tubing

3xScythe S-FLEX fans

3xSilenX fans
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 04-05-07, 03:10 AM
NoL NoL is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,441
It is possible that you are seeing the slightest inbalance in your mount. Try tightening one side, and you might see a temperature change.
__________________


Send me your food.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 04-05-07, 04:56 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
Does a dual or quad core cpu have the means to record it`s temps for each core individually ?

If it is the case, does a temp difference of 11 over an inherently small area present an issue in terms of integrity of the pcb as a whole ? (don`t really think so as the materials are `used` to rapid changes in temp with loading-idling, but it`s curious)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 04-05-07, 07:28 AM
Pat123 Pat123 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Uni), Darlington (Home)
Posts: 1,767
my core 2 duo has both cores always within 1-2 degrees of eachother.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 04-05-07, 02:38 PM
NoL NoL is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,441
This is most likely a larger pressure on one side, touching two cores more, and not two others as much.
__________________


Send me your food.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.