Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-04-07, 10:10 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
I feel like a n00b for this.

Ok ive been doin PCs for a while and should know this but i dont. It dosent say anywhere in the manual either.

On my SLI-DR i have the 12v molex connector and the floppy connector on my board. What do these do? The molex connector is also on an old Soyo Dragon Ultra PE and idk what they do. ANd it dosent say anywhere in the manual. Can somebody enlighten me please?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-04-07, 10:15 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
They help the motherboard supply clean power to all of the components. Deffo use them in the DFI board, helps a lot when overclocking
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-04-07, 10:22 AM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
Yea as Kemp said it gives the motherboard some extra voltage to play with, improving stability
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-04-07, 04:25 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Oh ok so when im OCing do i plug a cable into both of them? I dont see how it really helps that much but if yall say so ill give it a go.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-04-07, 04:27 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
IIRC the floppy plug supplies extra power to the PCI-E slots and the 4 pin molex supplies extra power to the RAM.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-04-07, 04:29 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
So then i dont really need it?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-04-07, 04:31 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
You don't need it but I highly suggest it. It helped my base OC when I was rocking the DFI / AMD setup.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-04-07, 04:35 PM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Well how does it help OC my processor when extra power is going to the RAM and PCI-E slots? Kinda dont understand but if it helps stable it out ill do it. Just more ugly cables goin across my board which i dont like.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-04-07, 04:37 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
Would u always plug this in even on a board that says the molex connector is "for users who want to do SLI" ?

Just as it wouldn`t hurt/might help ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-04-07, 04:38 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Ok someone has misguided you a bit I think... A stable overclock doesn't rely solely on your CPU. You need solid link for your RAM and a solid link for your video card. If either those are underpowered and you start stressing your CPU you'll run in to stability problems.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:35 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.