Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-04-07, 04:25 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Fresh windows install onto a Raid setup without a floppy

  • I don't have a floppy drive installed
  • I want to format my two 320gb hdds as Raid0 with a fresh install of windows
  • P5B Deluxe manual only tells me I can do this with a floppy drive
  • AAARGH?

Cheers guys

Im running off my 200gb external now (my previous primary drive with windows still installed)

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-04-07, 04:29 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Use Nlite and slipstream the drivers
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-04-07, 04:31 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Im guessing i need to slipstream these (from the jmicron raid driver download)

JMB363 (folder) > Driver > x32 > then the 4 files in this directory (2x system files, 1x setup information and 1x security catalogue)

As in those 4 files listed at the end
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-04-07, 04:32 PM
Joe Joe is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,592
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
  • I don't have a floppy drive installed
  • I want to format my two 320gb hdds as Raid0 with a fresh install of windows
  • P5B Deluxe manual only tells me I can do this with a floppy drive
  • AAARGH?

Cheers guys

Im running off my 200gb external now (my previous primary drive with windows still installed)
as Jim said slipstream the driver into the XP setup

or vista can use the drivers from another cd drive or USB memory

ammendment: to slipstream copy ur XP disk to a folder then point nlite to that folder then slipstream the drivers, doing this manually is more bother as it requires updating random config files and adding the driver to specific folders
__________________
Quote:
I got 600 TFLOPS out a potato that i put in a Soc 775 mobo , proof? -- here is a picture of a piece of lint , surley that will suffice
OC3D ScreenSavers ::
|Available Here|

Got an Ipod? :: |Check This Out|


Isabelle Loves OC3D :: |THIS MUCH|





Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-04-07, 04:40 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
So i cant just install the raid drivers on their own and have a completely fresh system (minus all my extra xp crap that may have been installed or corrupted)

As in on setup when it asks for additional raid drivers i cant press f6 and load them from a normal disk as an iso for example.

Could someone tell me the exact and best way to install a clean install of xp over my two hdds as raid0 (i can do all the bios stuff)

Just im not exactly experienced at this what so ever and when i try ur described methods they dont work for me as i do them wrong (im guessing )
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-04-07, 05:07 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
So i cant just install the raid drivers on their own and have a completely fresh system (minus all my extra xp crap that may have been installed or corrupted)

As in on setup when it asks for additional raid drivers i cant press f6 and load them from a normal disk as an iso for example.

Could someone tell me the exact and best way to install a clean install of xp over my two hdds as raid0 (i can do all the bios stuff)

Just im not exactly experienced at this what so ever and when i try ur described methods they dont work for me as i do them wrong (im guessing )
2 options in my view.

1. Use nlite as suggested above to make a new xp cd with the drivers included.

2. Buy a cheap usb floppy drive.

I prefer option 2 myself.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-04-07, 05:12 PM
Bogel Bogel is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 294
Yes floppy drives are going away with out a fight, they are still needed in some cases
__________________
PC1:

AMD Phenom II X3 720BE (4th Core Unlocked) @ 3.2ghz

2gb Ram Not name brand

2x80gb HD's

1x320gb HD

1x500gb HD

Gigabyte MA785GM-US2H

XFX GTS 250 1gb 738mhz

Rosewill 550watt PSU 73% Efficiency
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-04-07, 05:20 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
can you not use usb mass storage with usb legacy

or just slipstream as XMS said, slipstream could be good as when you want to install again you don't have to go thru the same problems. You can also slipstream the latest windows updates.
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-04-07, 05:29 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Ok, so i install the raid drivers. Slipstream my xp disk, this specific driver (which windows folder?) but I would rather redownload the updates to avoid any corrupted files etc.

Doesnt take long on my 8mbit connection

Edit found this in my windows folder after installing the raid drivers...

Quote:
Index of file:///c:/WINDOWS/JM

File: JMInsDrv.dll

File: jraid.inf
Slipstream that onto my "custom disk"?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-04-07, 06:03 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Err yeah also, trying to get nLite to detect my windows disk. Its in the drive but it keeps popping up with cannot find the necessary driver and that I am looking at the wrong directory

Edit: Strange, after a restart it found it fine??

Just need to know if those are the correct drivers^^

Edit again...found an extremely old floppy drive...hopefully its not dead
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.