Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-04-07, 09:53 PM
sarmad sarmad is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
overclocking help

hi

my problem is that i cant run 3dmark 06 tests on my pc with fsb 380 and

timing 4.4.4.12

my hardware:

-----------------

c2d 6400

patriot 2x1gb pc 6400 timing 5.5.5.15

aw9d max (14 beta bios)

-----------------

my voltage and other setting :

cpu voltage : 1.325 or 1.35 (make no difference)

memory voltage : 2.35

mch voltage :1.60 (higher or lower make no difference too)

cpu ferq:3.40 ghz and timing is 4.4.4.12

------------------

when i run 3dmark 06 sometimes it pass the first test but sometimes not and

display a "dont send" error message or blank screen until i press the

escape key and 3dmark closed automaticaly or if i run "super pi" it well

calculate the 32mb for the first time and if l run it again this message appear

"not exact round " or somthing like that. so whats your idea about the

voltages value ?

should i change any of them to higher or lower?

is mch voltage important? if yes what value i have to set?

thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-04-07, 10:34 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Looks like you need a little more Vcore too me.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-04-07, 08:15 AM
sarmad sarmad is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
doesnt make it better!

is mch voltage important?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-04-07, 09:04 AM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sarmad'

c2d 6400

patriot 2x1gb pc 6400 timing 5.5.5.15

aw9d max (14 beta bios)

-----------------

my voltage and other setting :

cpu voltage : 1.325 or 1.35 (make no difference) trust me, it does make a difference, 1.5v is the general max for 24/7 usage. Try small increases and re-run benchmarks etc until you find stability

memory voltage : 2.35 seems quite high, is your mem rated to this voltage? 2.2v is common

mch voltage :1.60 (higher or lower make no difference too) I had mine set to 2.0v on high overclocks... Try 1.65/1.7

cpu ferq:3.40 ghz and timing is 4.4.4.12 for this frequency i'd imagine you need 1.45v but this depends on if you got lucky with your cpu. With memory, loosen your timings to 5-5-5-15 while you get a stable cpu, then re-tighten them

------------------

when i run 3dmark 06 sometimes it pass the first test but sometimes not and

display a "dont send" error message or blank screen until i press the

escape key and 3dmark closed automaticaly or if i run "super pi" it well

calculate the 32mb for the first time and if l run it again this message appear

"not exact round " or somthing like that. so whats your idea about the

voltages value ?

should i change any of them to higher or lower?

is mch voltage important? if yes what value i have to set?

thanks
The above error messages are due to instability.

1. Set mem to 5-5-5-15.

2. Increase v core slowly, at each increment try benchmarks.

3. Don't exceed 1.5v on your cpu.

4. Add a little to vmch, it does add stability.

5. once cpu is stable work your mem timings down

Let us know how you get on
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17-04-07, 09:49 PM
sarmad sarmad is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
thank you Mr. Smith for your nice reply

i'll go for it when i come back home ,and another question is that

why i cant stable it on 4.4.4.12 timing with this ferq?

is it because of low voltage or my poor hardware ?

thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17-04-07, 09:54 PM
limqareb limqareb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,908
nah the hardware is fine try adding 1.375 - 1.4 vcore and try again, that much 5 oc need more vcore imo
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17-04-07, 11:16 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sarmad'
thank you Mr. Smith for your nice reply

i'll go for it when i come back home ,and another question is that

why i cant stable it on 4.4.4.12 timing with this ferq?

is it because of low voltage or my poor hardware ?

thanks again
No problem mate.

You might be able to get 4-4-4-12, as a general rule you find your max stable cpu OC then work on your memory timings... High latency seems to bring stability to high OC's...

I beleive your problem to be low voltage, you have decent hardware...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-04-07, 01:54 PM
sarmad sarmad is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 51
hi

finally in 4-4-4-12 timing its stable with this setting:

vcore:1.35

dram:2.10

fsb:350

mch:1.50

(passed the "prime95" and "3dmark 06" test)

------------------------------------------------

and if i dont change the timing and set it by SPD :

fsb:390

vcore:1.35

dram:2.25

mch:1.55

(passed the "prime95" and "3dmark 06" test)

------------------------------------------------

i am sure my pc can raise higher than what i found but i have to work on it .

and another thing is that why the 14 beta bios is more suitable than 15 beta

bios? and how i can find out what refresh cycle time value is correct for

4-4-4-12 timing?

thanks for your advice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.