Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 05-04-07, 02:04 AM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
I'd go with SLI just because SLI is sexy, even if they're crappy cards.

__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-04-07, 02:18 AM
Hyper Hyper is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,246
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
I'd go with SLI just because SLI is sexy, even if they're crappy cards.
When did the 7800 series all of a sudden become crappy
__________________
2500K @ 4GHZ - P8Z68-V - Sapphire 6950 2GB

8GB DDR3 - M4 64GB SSD - Corsair HX520W - Dell 24"

Logitech G5 - Logitech Z-5500 - Sennheisser HD555

Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 4GB DDR3, M4 128GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 05-04-07, 08:47 AM
Phunky Phunky is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 269
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
I'd go with SLI just because SLI is sexy, even if they're crappy cards.
Do NOT go SLi for Source, you will not find it any help at all!

Source is depends on CPU power, you could quite easy stick with you 7800 as long as you have something like a Conroe.

Source does not support SLi, Nvidia just support it at driver level a little bit and tbh i dont even see a FPS increase when i enable SLi in Source.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05-04-07, 09:27 AM
jiffz jiffz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,973
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
When did the 7800 series all of a sudden become crappy
Well said! I'm still usin the beast that is the 7800gt
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05-04-07, 09:33 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phunky'
Do NOT go SLi for Source, you will not find it any help at all!

Source is depends on CPU power, you could quite easy stick with you 7800 as long as you have something like a Conroe.

Source does not support SLi, Nvidia just support it at driver level a little bit and tbh i dont even see a FPS increase when i enable SLi in Source.
Totally agreed. I actually saw a DROP in FPS when running source with SLI.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 05-04-07, 11:02 AM
paperless paperless is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 25
The FPS will drop but i think you will still be able to play the game decently as long as it is 60+ i see no problem.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 05-04-07, 12:30 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='paperless'
The FPS will drop but i think you will still be able to play the game decently as long as it is 60+ i see no problem.
Your just not a big enough enthusiast than .

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phunky'
Source is depends on CPU power, you could quite easy stick with you 7800 as long as you have something like a Conroe.
Am running a e4300 @ 3.3ghz. Maybe i should redo my vdroop mod and go for 3.6 as a 24/7.

I ran some tests yest using my CRT @ 1600x1200. Scored 83fps on the stress test and was darting between 80 and 100 on our D2 pub server. Its not too bad i spose, but id still like my 104fps. Im probably going to stick another GB in next week, just after the monitor arrives, bump up the heapsize to 1GB and fingers crossed that mite be enough to boost it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 05-04-07, 12:36 PM
Phunky Phunky is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 269
Well im running my E4300 @ 3ghz as i cant seem to get the thing stable on anything higher.

Im running Source with a 7950GX2 and get the same FPS in 640x480 as i do in 1600x1200 but at least its above 100fps at all times.

I wouldnt even bother running the stress test as it does nothing that you will find in game. If you like ive got a little fpstest.dem (i created for using with the timedemo CVAR) that i could send your way.

Its only about 30-40seconds long but it has a lot of action in game and is running around half of Dust2, covering some of the big FPS drop points such as A Site looking down to Long and looking up middle from CT spawn.

BTW: I run with 16xAF and 4xMSAA and still get above 100fps, but when i turn them off i see no increase either :/ i swear there are no good drivers out for the 7950GX2
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 05-04-07, 12:47 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
You do know that the GX2 is SLI on a single card right?

As for your 4300, what mobo are you running? Ive booted @ 3.6 no problem, just under any load the vdroop on my board pulls it to unstable.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 05-04-07, 12:51 PM
Phunky Phunky is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 269
Yeah i know its SLi and thats the problem alot of drivers dont detect it as SLi and refuse to work correctly with the card.

Im using a Abit AW9D Board with the Beta 15 bios, i got it to boot at 3.4ghz but was getting far to hot under the stock cooler.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.