Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-03-07, 08:33 PM
NugentS NugentS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 150
Stupid Question...

This is probably fairly obvious - but before I shell out a load of cash - I thought I would ask the people here who probably know...

I currently use a 6600 with twin LCD monitors.

If I get a new card (8800 G??) I can use it the same way with two monitors.

If I buy two cards and want to use two monitors:

1. Can I?

2. Does SLI still work or is card1 for monitor1 and card2 for monitor2

Lastly - how does this work with ATI cards?

Sean

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-03-07, 08:53 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
it will work in the same way as your old card

with sli just use the top card for both monitors
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-03-07, 09:15 PM
darkorb darkorb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,220
i would stick with Nvidia, since your already used to their drivers and all

and also, just get 1 card, SLI doesn't work with 2 moniters afaik
__________________
Intel Q6600 (Stock for now)

Scythe Infinity

XFX 680i LT

OCZ 2 x 2GB Platinum DDR2 800

EVGA 8800GTS 640MB

Ultra Aluminus

Mushkin 650watt SLI

Seagate 500gb

Seagate 250gb

DVD Rom/Burner
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-03-07, 09:34 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
It can be done, here is a tutorial for you to follow!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-03-07, 10:05 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
SLI and crossfire doesnt yield too impressive results though - mainly bragging rights
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-03-07, 10:18 PM
markkleb markkleb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,377
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nathan'
It can be done, here is a tutorial for you to follow!
Thanks Nathan, great link
__________________
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-07, 11:37 PM
NugentS NugentS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Berkshire
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nathan'
It can be done, here is a tutorial for you to follow!
Excellent - and many thanks. It does however tell me not to bother with an SLI rag...

Sean
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-03-07, 04:10 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
Id rather pay for an 8800GTX/GTS instead of a SLI rig tbh.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-03-07, 09:00 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Yep single card is always a better proposition imo
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-03-07, 05:07 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Yep single card is always a better proposition imo
Kemp fiddles with gfxcards all the time, and quite frankly if he says this then I`d go with it 100%.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:47 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.