Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 03-03-07, 12:43 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Vista Readyboost - using it?

Well I didn't have a fast enough flash drive for it but I bought a bargain 4gb Buffalo High-speed pen drive from Amazon (£20) and I really have noticed the difference in Vista

Vista is pretty speedy for me anyway but the extra boost with programs loading faster etc (esp firefox) really is noticeable

I know XMS tried it and didn't notice much

Anyone else tried it?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-03-07, 01:01 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
not tried it yet, but will prob try it later.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-03-07, 04:40 PM
browney browney is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 531
Tried it and didnt notice any difference on laptop or desktop
__________________
Q8300@3Ghz || 4Gb 6400 Black Dragon ||P35 DS3

5770 1Gb || G15 Rev 2 || 10MB VM

||E-mail
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-03-07, 04:42 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Is this that Vista feature that uses a flashdrive as ram?

None the less sounds intresting!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-03-07, 05:03 PM
macgamesrule macgamesrule is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 357
Tom's Hardware did thorough tests on it. Basically their conclusion was, if you have at least 1GB of RAM and an SATA HD, you don't gain much advantage using ReadyBoost.

I haven't any testing of my own since I got the flash drive and started using it as soon as I got Vista. Maybe one of these days I'll take it out and see if it feels any slower.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-03-07, 11:43 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I really notice it when using Fireworks, Photoshop and Firefox, but mostly when loading...it speeds up loading by a few seconds
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-03-07, 12:34 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
I've moved back to Windows 2003 now...that gave me a much bigger speed boost

I get my Vista fix using a Vista Theme and replica sidebar now.

Think I'll give it a second chance when it hits SP1
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-03-07, 12:51 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
It's weird cause me and you find almost (apart from cr@ppy 3rd party driver support) totally opposite opinions. I find Vista quicker quite a few things
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04-03-07, 12:58 AM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
looks like i need to making the deciding opinion when i move over
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04-03-07, 01:04 AM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
It's weird cause me and you find almost (apart from cr@ppy 3rd party driver support) totally opposite opinions. I find Vista quicker quite a few things
Maybe difference in hard drive set-ups? I honsetly found vista the same as XP speed wise.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.