Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-02-07, 09:50 AM
AvengerUK AvengerUK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
x2 5000+ - Any drivers needed?

Hey,

another question from myself! - i usually do stuff wrong on a build - so i thought id double check everything first!

With my old 4000+ single core, i used to install the AMD drivers. I can see that the X2 also has *similiar* drivers, along with the "X2 Dual core optimizer".

are the drivers needed/recommended? - and what does this dual core optimizer do, or is it best left alone!

Thanks!...again

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-02-07, 09:51 AM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Well the hammer drivers were needed for single core. But Afaik you dont need them for the dual cores.

May be wrong though.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-02-07, 10:24 AM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
just make sure your chipset drivers and BIOS are up to date and install the dual core patch (we have a guide in our articles section)

On a similar note, I have heard rumors of a patch for C2D optimization....
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-02-07, 10:52 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Yeah be sure to install the AMD x2 drivers and optimizing stuff, particularly in the correct order (as they demonstrate), otherwize u tend to get some weird results.

I don`t think u get weird results if u don`t install them - but u obviously then don`t get the benefits as they stand.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-02-07, 04:59 PM
AvengerUK AvengerUK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Yeah be sure to install the AMD x2 drivers and optimizing stuff, particularly in the correct order (as they demonstrate), otherwize u tend to get some weird results.

I don`t think u get weird results if u don`t install them - but u obviously then don`t get the benefits as they stand.
Who demonstrates the correct order?!

(and where is this guide? ive looked but yet to find!)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-02-07, 05:01 PM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
here
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-02-07, 05:25 PM
AvengerUK AvengerUK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Thanks alot guys

Note: should i just install the hotfix, or leave it and install if i come to a problem?

Thats my last question lol!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-02-07, 06:22 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I installed it anyway. Anything to make stuff faster...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07-02-07, 09:59 PM
AvengerUK AvengerUK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Installed it, and edited registry

However, according the microsoft support entry, the reg editing disables something, where as your article is on about enableing?!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-02-07, 09:34 AM
AvengerUK AvengerUK is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 76
Err, guys...

Quote:
Note This solution favors performance gains over power savings. Although benchmark performance scores may improve, battery life could be negatively affected. Therefore, this kernel policy change must be enabled in the registry to allow for maximum flexibility.Enable the new performance state policy behavior

After you install the hotfix that is described in this article, follow these steps to enable the new performance state policy behavior:

1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit in the Open box, and then click OK.

2. Right-click HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Session Manager, point to New, and then click Key.

3. Type Throttle for the new key name.

4. Right-click Throttle, point to New, and then click DWORD Value.

5. Type PerfEnablePackageIdle for the value name.

6. Right-click PerfEnablePackageIdle, and then click Modify.

7. In the Edit DWORD Value box, type 1. In the Value data box, make sure that Hexadecimal is selected, and then click OK.

8. Quit Registry Editor.
So, if we want max performance on a desktop...we set the DWORD value to 0, not 1 surely? (or delete it - same effect) ???
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:52 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.