Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-01-07, 06:12 PM
Stellasuppa Stellasuppa is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
buying ddr2 memory

hi new to this forum and wondering if you had 2x512 ddr2 ocz special ops 6400 would it be best to add 2x1gb sticks or take the special ops out i have vista ultimate 64 so help would be greatly appreciated.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-01-07, 06:24 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Are you overclocking?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-01-07, 07:47 PM
Stellasuppa Stellasuppa is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
hopefully only got zalman aeroflower and not much experience on overclocking
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-01-07, 07:57 PM
markkleb markkleb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,377
Thats a hard question to answer. I guess its better to have 1gig sticks for expanding in the future, but you already have 2 512s.

I dont know if you would notice a difference from 2 to 3 gigs in regular use.

Maybe you could get the 2 1Gig sticks and sell your 2 512s to help with the cost.

Hi Ham
__________________
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-01-07, 08:07 PM
Stellasuppa Stellasuppa is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
if i had 3g of ram and overclock it would it run better or with just 2g got to read all the information on overclocking. also the asus fan controller menu doesnt work with vista so any software recommended buy yourself
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-01-07, 08:10 PM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
I would personally sell the two 512mb sticks you currently have and buy two slightly faster 1GB sticks.
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 30-01-07, 08:19 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
That is what I'd do too^
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-01-07, 08:48 PM
Stellasuppa Stellasuppa is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
i thought the ram i purchased would be ideal for my asusp5wdh deluxe never mind what would you recommend my overclocking is with an aero flower cpu fan thx for the help much appreciated
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:22 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.