Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Project Logs
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 11-12-10, 02:30 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Was going to explain all this but after five hours of WWF with a Survivor on my bedroom floor I CBA. So pics will have to do.








Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-12-10, 04:44 PM
lappy74 lappy74 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 237
Looking nice so far

I like the emblem on the I/O Shield, nice little touch.
__________________


Nice little fact: The diameter of our Galaxy, in miles, is almost the same number as the number of bits in 66831 TB.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-12-10, 08:42 PM
Jamzieth Jamzieth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Manchestershire
Posts: 229
Whoot, whoot, more more
__________________
Main Rig
Laptop (eMachines D620 on steriods)
CPU: Intel Core i7 860 @ 4 GHz - 200MHz x 20

Mobo: MSI P55 GD65

GPU: 2x Palit GTX 460 SLI
RAM: 2 x 2GB & 2 x 4GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHz DDR3 (12GB Total)
SSD: 60GB Mushkin Callisto Deluxe

HDD: 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3

Case: Xigmatek Utguard
PSU: Corsair HX 850

Cooling: Noctua NH-D14

OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-Bit

Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-12-10, 09:51 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Tell me about it ! If the CPU doesn't arrive on Monday I'm going to Plymouth to hand out some pimp slaps.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12-12-10, 12:31 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Can't sleep so I decided to get some more done.

Fitted the molex modular cable. Wired up the DVD, LEDs fans and so on.

Fitted the ram and test fired the PC with no CPU in. Fired up like a champ.

Now I know I picked the right ram for this board...



You may have noticed I mentioned getting a white LED fan for £4.99? Placement is key when you're on a budget. Project has now been renamed 'Brittania' I shall leave you to figure it out



Front. Logo switch is now wired up so I can switch off the logo.



And after some subtle mods the fan is now in and running.

Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 12-12-10, 10:06 AM
SnW's Avatar
SnW SnW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3,931
Nice little red devil
__________________
sig update v1.1.

The Iron is the best antidepressant I have ever found. There is no better way to fight weakness than with strength. Once the mind and body have been awakened to their true potential, it’s impossible to turn back.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 12-12-10, 10:21 AM
lasher lasher is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,898
You putting a union jack on the side window ??

Subtle mods love it ....
__________________
Biostar Tpower I55, I5 750 @ 4.2Ghz, 4GB Kingston DDR3, Custom water loop - Thermochill PA120.3, Heatkiller 3.0 LC, Laing DDC Ultra, XSPC res top, XSPC white hose, Asus 5870, Antec Quattro 1000, Lian Li PC-X2000, Win7 ultimate.



Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 12-12-10, 11:27 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
It's a shame I never notice subtle things..

What I should have done was download the manual at first and then I would have saved myself some aggro.

Third or fourth page of the manual...

"Fox Update (tm) comes with the motherboard on the utilities CD. It allows you to connect to the Quantum website and automatically download and install the latest bios. It also allows you to load a bios and install that one within Windows"

Well, that'll teach me. I'm now an IDE user

Mind you reading the manual has thrown up some awesome sauce. It's dual bios for a start. You have have them auto detect or force certain ones to come on. Sooo. What I'll do is put on this beta bios that allows the 4 series to work and then use the other one for trying out future bioses
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 13-12-10, 09:56 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Well, another day passes and I get to watch the postman walk past without an I7. I'm furious now. I paid extra because Amazon claimed -

ORDER THIS PRODUCT NOW TO RECIEVE IT BEFORE THE 11TH DECEMBER !

It's now the 13th.

What's pissing me off is I could have ordered it from Aria, OCUK, anywhere else and got courier 24 hour.

Any way the fan came.



Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 14-12-10, 08:50 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
Another day. Still no I7.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:28 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.