Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Memory
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-12-10, 10:23 PM
Techno Tortoise Techno Tortoise is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hull, England
Posts: 62
i have a friend with 4Gb of ram running at 800MHz

would it be faster for him to get another 4Gb of the same stuff or get 4gb of 1066MHz

so basically 8Gb 800Mhz 5-5-5-15

OR 4Gb of 1066 5-5-5-15

He dues allot of gaming and the occasional video edit and render about once to twice a week

so what would give him the best performance will 8Gb make up for the speed difference maybe increase his FPS in games....?

Thanks in advance.

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-12-10, 10:32 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by TECHNO TORTOISE View Post

i have a friend with 4Gb of ram running at 800MHz

would it be faster for him to get another 4Gb of the same stuff or get 4gb of 1066MHz

so basically 8Gb 800Mhz 5-5-5-15

OR 4Gb of 1066 5-5-5-15

He dues allot of gaming and the occasional video edit and render about once to twice a week

so what would give him the best performance will 8Gb make up for the speed difference maybe increase his FPS in games....?

Thanks in advance.
What's the rest of the specs? I'm assuming this is DDR2 on 775 platform? He won't see any difference in games between 800 or 1066. Nor will he notice a difference in games between 8GB and 4GB. Adding the extra 4GB will help in video editing and/or rendering, depending on the size of the project he is working on. If his projects aren't large, I'd just stick with the 4GB.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-12-10, 10:44 PM
Techno Tortoise Techno Tortoise is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hull, England
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

What's the rest of the specs? I'm assuming this is DDR2 on 775 platform? He won't see any difference in games between 800 or 1066. Nor will he notice a difference in games between 8GB and 4GB. Adding the extra 4GB will help in video editing and/or rendering, depending on the size of the project he is working on. If his projects aren't large, I'd just stick with the 4GB.
Asus P5Q Deluxe

ATI 4890 1Gb

Intel Q8300

4Gb ram

750W psu

all speed and cooling stock

his videos are about 10 min in length and full hd

it could be a stupid question but would it be better for him to overclock the cpu for faster render times and fps increases an of course get a better cooler first lol.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-12-10, 10:53 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by TECHNO TORTOISE View Post

Asus P5Q Deluxe

ATI 4890 1Gb

Intel Q8300

4Gb ram

750W psu

all speed and cooling stock

his videos are about 10 min in length and full hd

it could be a stupid question but would it be better for him to overclock the cpu for faster render times and fps increases an of course get a better cooler first lol.
Most definitely.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-12-10, 11:20 PM
Techno Tortoise Techno Tortoise is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Hull, England
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by hmmblah View Post

Most definitely.
Thanks again for the fast replies
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 03-12-10, 09:04 AM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
You can't mix ram speeds. It will always run at the slower speed.

If you mean should he use 8gb of 800mhz *or* 4gb of 1066? I would use 8gb.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 03-12-10, 12:29 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,672
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlienALX View Post

You can't mix ram speeds. It will always run at the slower speed.

If you mean should he use 8gb of 800mhz *or* 4gb of 1066? I would use 8gb.
That's how I read it as well.
__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.