Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-12-10, 07:31 PM
midnightray midnightray is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 70
Hello all, long time

Well, I thought I would share a cautionary tale about OCZ and their Vertex 2 drives. I'm on my second one and it has problems.

So, 1st drive. I put it into my Novatech laptop and it works for about 6 days before it locks itself and didn't accept writes. RMA back to Aria. Shame it was from Aria as I paid the postage and had the hassle.

Ok so I went back to the hard drive it cam with whilst looking at getting a new laptop for software development. You probably don't know but I work for a start up software company managing the software product, its designed to be highly scalable, multi core and eat all your RAM

I settled on the Samsung RF710 laptop due to the i7 chip and 6gb of RAM. Enough for decent development. I then decided to get another SSD and went for the Vertex 2 120gb from Novatech this time (local, so easy to pickup rather than get the posty sitting on it!)

This drive now has its own problems. It locks up for 30-50 seconds where any hard drive activity is queued.

I have had an email chain with Eric at OCZ and then on the forum.

I'll copy + paste most of it to here, incase they delete or modify it.

-------------------------------

http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...second-freezes

The drive performs nicely except for random 30-50 second freezes where the computer is semi responsive but the hard drive light is solid.

I've upgraded to 1.24 firmware.

The version of Intel RST is 9.6.3.1001 which is the version that came with the laptop. I'v tried the official Intel version and version 10, neither did anything.

I've disabled the page file, defrag, in power setting made it never turn off hard drives and turned off write caching. Nothing seems to have solved it. Also tried in various combinations of on and off.

It has been left idle at login for about 8 hours this week already.

In power options, disk power off is set to never, PCI Express power saving are set to off.

Laptop: Samsung RF710:

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/p...ype=prd_detail

Specific spec I went for:

http://www.cclonline.com/product-inf...np-rf710-s03uk

(Came with 2 500gb hard drives, think their site is wrong, swapped one for the Vertex 2 120G

Laptop open:

http://twitpic.com/3bnp7a

Stuff I have installed:

Kaspersky Internet Security 2011 (AV+Firewall+Scanner)

Firefox

Chrome

Office 2010 32bit

Visual Studio 2008 Pro

Visual Studio 2010 Pro

SQL Server 2008 R2 Developer Edition (Full everything)

NetBeans and Java JDK

.NET 2, 3.5 and 4 SDK

Zune

Dropbox

Ultramon

Skype

TortioseSVN

Notepad++

7-Zip

Performance graph of a freeze:

http://twitpic.com/3bybg7/full

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-12-10, 07:38 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,743
Ive been saying for sooooo long not to touch anything they make.......
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-12-10, 08:36 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
You know when you take a nice big dump and you flush it, only to find it won't quite go down the toilet?

That's OCZ that is. They've been in big trouble for a long time now and somehow they just manage to stop themselves going down the toilet.

However, buying from a company with big problems like that is a bad idea.

Also, pasting emails (not sure if you actually meant emails or forum correspondance) onto a forum is illegal and can end up with the hosts deleting forums.

Don't ask me how I know that please, but just take my word for it. It's a breach of privacy. So please, be very careful (same also goes for private messages).

Edit. Now an attempt to be helpful. Numerous SSD owners were recently complaining about terrible stuttering in Windows 7. I was one of them. Make sure you connect to windows update (yourself, don't let it) and make sure you install all the latest updates. If you search for SSD stuttering you should find the thread, if all else fails a manual fix was posted
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-12-10, 08:52 PM
midnightray midnightray is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 70
Well, I haven't posted any emails from them. Although I think your referring to the legal bit at the bottom of emails. I haven't said anything different to my forum postings.

Could you help me find the thread? I've been searching for ~8 days for a fix and don't remember that thread.

Starting to agree, OCZ seem to be blaming me or Samsung for there SSDs quirky behaviour. There are other minor little problems with the SSD which pale into comparison with the freezing.

Sleep, sleeping my laptop is a big deal, just results in a BSOD or worse, had a BSOD (blank/black screen of death).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-12-10, 08:54 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
I can't find it

Sorry mate, not laughing at you like.. I *think* Lasher posted the fix but thankfully the problem went away for me..

It's something to do with Indexing IIRC.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-12-10, 09:03 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
http://forum.overclock3d.net/index.p..._1#entry364865
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-12-10, 09:03 PM
midnightray midnightray is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 70
Meh nevermind, will hunt for it, was it definatly on OC3D?

My new plan is to get a Kingston V+ as Tom recommended, clone my OCZ onto that and laugh at OCZ when it works flawlessly then attempt to charge them for the 20-30 hours I've put into fixing it...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-12-10, 09:04 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
^ *points upward*

I found it
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-12-10, 09:10 PM
midnightray midnightray is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 70
Dunno mate, my CPU is fine. Its just every so often, probably under load (heavy read/write), the drive freezes. CPU % is fine.

Its an idea that perhaps Windows is doing some indexing stuff in the background that causes the drive to freeze, will run a process monitor program again and check for it.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-12-10, 07:13 AM
midnightray midnightray is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bristol, UK
Posts: 70
LOL and another guy has popped up on the OCZ forum with nearly the same problem, except his freezes are only 10 seconds rather than 30.

http://www.ocztechnologyforum.com/fo...b-Lockup-Issue
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.