Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 11-11-10, 12:24 PM
hmmblah's Avatar
hmmblah hmmblah is online now
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by mayhem View Post

dont get me started on folding at home. not all of us live in our parents house and dont have the pay the electrical bills.
Ask steve about his electric bill, or mine for that matter . Like said above, if you want to stress your GPU (or CPU) there is no better tool than F@H. If there is any instability whatsoever F@H will not make it through a WU. I've been benchmark stable plenty of times, but not F@H stable. It's a hell of a lot better than Furmark for testing. If you think it's all about us getting the points, then don't fill in a team number when you do your testing. We aren't trying to con you into joining the team, just giving you an excellent suggestion on how to really test your GPU.

__________________
i7 930 | GA-X58A-UD3R | GTX680 | 6GB DDR3 | 250GB 840 Pro SSD



3DMark11 - P10045 | X3680
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 11-11-10, 01:58 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,340
But obv. it would be epic if you did support the team dude. Sure you can claim leccy as a tax subsidy as a part of the business
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 11-11-10, 02:11 PM
Daza Daza is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 261
Prime95 and furmark reasons been both can be downloaded as a .zip and ran without the need to install which iirc fah can't do but i might be wrong been a while.
__________________
MR D to you.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 11-11-10, 02:30 PM
mayhem mayhem is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,285
i dont think leccy gets taxed any more.

Just after heating up a none connected (tin ternet connected that is) system using stand stress test tools F@H is no good as it requires the net.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18-11-10, 02:05 PM
F-alienware F-alienware is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: On Mars as an anthropologist
Posts: 0
Send a message via MSN to F-alienware
I've stopped using Prime. Considering it was the only bloody bench I ran that actually crashed the PC I think it was a bit stupid.

It does with your CPU stuff that your CPU will never ever do. Same as Furmark. It's completely un ness if you ask me.

I now use LinX for the CPU (seeing as it also puts your CPU under full load but not a completely BS full load nor makes the CPU reach the temps Prime does) and Furmark and Fluidmark to test a GPU (Fluid for Physx as Furmark doesn't use it).

However.

I also don't think it's overly wise to leave either Prime nor Furmark running overnight. As I said, they place absolutely stupid levels of stress on your hardware that you will absolutely never see at any other time. Sure, passing both means your machine is stable however after a 4 hour Crysis session, three vantages in a row (just to get an average score) 5 mafia 2 benches in a row with very high Physx, a nine hour Fallout New Vegas session, Unpacking 9gb rar files and god knows what else I can't -

1. Get the machine to crash.

2. Get the CPU temp over 47c max load doing 50 passes in LinX (20 is the max recommended to make sure you're stable)

3. Seen my GPU go over 71c @ 80% fan.

So aye. To me Prime and Furmark are bloody stupid. And, Furmark doesn't hardly touch the ram or RAMDAC on your card so is no way to prove stability either.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18-11-10, 02:52 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
Intel burn test always gets my CPU about 10C hotter than prime. I prefer Burn test (or any other linpack program) as it puts much more stress on the CPU than prime and stresses more RAM, and is much faster.
__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18-11-10, 05:54 PM
Domowoi Domowoi is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 18
LinX for CPU cause it is faster at getting errors.

And GPU Tool for you might already guessed it GPU.

There are no better tools. Not because I want to convince you to do it the way I do it, but because in my testing they both turned out to be the best.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:36 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.